Would i be able to move Boots of speed to another item slot


Rules Questions


If i bought Boots of Speed. But i already had a pair of boots. Would i be able to buy it as bracers instead?


1 person marked this as a favorite.

that's up to your GM. custom magic items are always with GM permission, but usually the incorrect slot is a 50% increase in cost by the rules.


Weables wrote:
that's up to your GM. custom magic items are always with GM permission, but usually the incorrect slot is a 50% increase in cost by the rules.

Thanks for the Help


You can add the magic of the Boots of Speed to whatever boots you are wearing now, at a 50% increase in price.

That being said... I have allowed the magic of a Blinkback Belt to be added to someone's Glove of Storing for their Starknife build. It doesn't matter either way mechanically but the flavor was cool.


Sorry, been trying to find it... exactly where is the +50% increase in cost for the "wrong slot?"

Making it slotless doubles the cost, I knew that. But I cannot find the +50% for altering the slot, only admonishments that GM's should be reluctant or hesitate over allowing that for balance purposes.


Page 172 of Ultimate Campaign has you covered:

Ultimate Campaign wrote:

Altering Existing Items

The Core Rulebook doesn’t allow item creation feats to
alter the physical nature of an item, its default size, its
shape, or its magical properties. For example, there is
no mechanism for using crafting feats to change a steel
+1 longsword into an adamantine +1 longsword, a Large
+1 chain shirt into a Medium +1 chain shirt, boots of speed
into an amulet of speed, or a +1 unholy longsword into a +1
f laming shock longsword. Many GMs might decide that
these kinds of transformations are impossible, beyond
the scope of mortals, or not as cost-efficient as crafting
a new item from scratch. Others might allow these sorts
of transformations for free or a small surcharge. Keep in
mind the following warnings.

So, in the end, it's up to the GM.

(It's also on this page under "Altering Existing Irems")

Grand Lodge

mardaddy wrote:

Sorry, been trying to find it... exactly where is the +50% increase in cost for the "wrong slot?"

Making it slotless doubles the cost, I knew that. But I cannot find the +50% for altering the slot, only admonishments that GM's should be reluctant or hesitate over allowing that for balance purposes.

This was in 3.5, as far as I know it didn't officially make it to Pathfinder.

I found the reference here: http://www.d20srd.org/srd/magicItems/creatingMagicItems.htm

but again that's not a pathfinder source.

the pathfinder sources say:
Some Abilities Are Assigned to Certain Slots: Some of the magic items in the standard rules are deliberately assigned to specific magic item slots for balance purposes, so that you have to make hard choices about what items to wear. In particular, the magic belts and circlets that give enhancement bonuses to ability scores are in this category—characters who want to enhance multiple physical or mental ability scores must pay extra for combination items like a belt of physical might or headband of mental prowess.

If there is a trend of all items of a particular type using a particular slot (such as items that grant physical ability score bonuses being belts or items that grant movement bonuses being boots), GMs should be hesitant to allow you to move those abilities to other slots; otherwise, they ignore these deliberate restrictions by cheaply spreading out these items over unused slots.


Before adding Boots of Speed to existing boots, consider adding your existing boot effect to the Boots of Speed. It could save you a lot of cash.

Example:
Boots of the Cat -- 1000 gp
Boots of Speed -- 12000 gp

BotC add BoS -- 19000 gp
BoS add BotC -- 13500 gp

/cevah

Liberty's Edge

Also worth noting that the boot item slot is, with the exception of Boots of Speed, mostly garbage. There are some situationaly good items - Boots of Elvenkind are excellent on a Circling Mongoose rogue, for example - but for the most part there aren't many items worth using in the item slot. Moving to a more 'crowded' item slot probably shouldn't increase the cost - if one of my PCs wanted to make a ring of speed, belt of speed, headband of speed, necklace of speed, or cloak of speed, I wouldn't increase the price, to be honest.


Cevah wrote:

Before adding Boots of Speed to existing boots, consider adding your existing boot effect to the Boots of Speed. It could save you a lot of cash.

Example:
Boots of the Cat -- 1000 gp
Boots of Speed -- 12000 gp

BotC add BoS -- 19000 gp
BoS add BotC -- 13500 gp

/cevah

I thought it was always 50% increase to the lower cost item to avoid this.


SorrySleeping wrote:
Cevah wrote:

Before adding Boots of Speed to existing boots, consider adding your existing boot effect to the Boots of Speed. It could save you a lot of cash.

Example:
Boots of the Cat -- 1000 gp
Boots of Speed -- 12000 gp

BotC add BoS -- 19000 gp
BoS add BotC -- 13500 gp

I thought it was always 50% increase to the lower cost item to avoid this.

That is what a merchant will assume as the price. But the rules are clear: the added item costs half again. Order of operations is important.

/cevah


I don't like the item creation rules that say that the new abilities have their costs increased by 50%. I think the only thing it does is it pushes players to make new items, not improve the old. I stick to increase the price of the cheaper ability by 50% to keep it consistent with creating new magic items.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Would i be able to move Boots of speed to another item slot All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.