Treasure tables - Potences ?


General Discussion


On the treasure tables when you select gear for your character - As an example under lvl 12 items it lists both a +3 weapon, and a +3 weapon potency.

Aren't they effective the same thing? Also, as potencies only stack on a lesser potency, does that mean you still have to buy the +2 and +1 as well ?


Despite their differing costs, for the purpose of the GM giving treasure both are treated as an item of the same level. This is so a GM can either give the player a whole new already upgraded weapon OR just give them a runestone with the next upgrade rune for them and it's still essentially the same space in their treasure allotment.

For buying items, yeah you need to buy the lower potencies first as well as the appropriate quality weapon. That is however already reflected in the price difference between a +x weapon and a +x potency rune.

So if you're a player buying the item, it works out the same either way. If you're a GM allowing treasure it gives you easy choice between two methods of presentation. If you're a player choosing starting items for a character starting at higher level, this is here to allow you to get, for example, a +3 weapon as one of your level 12 items instead of a +3 rune as a level 12 items, a +2 rune as a level 8 item, a +1 rune as a level 4 item, and a master quality weapon as a level 7 item. In this case it's to save hassle with starting a higher level character.


More specifically, GM-side:

You can consider a minimum-quality weapon to be pretty much free. However, if you want a higher quality weapon, it'll be a multi-part treasure. So for example an Expert-level +2 weapon is a lv8 item and a free lv2 item, a +2 rune is a lv8 item, and a +2 Master weapon is two separate lv7 and lv8 items.


Ediwir wrote:

More specifically, GM-side:

You can consider a minimum-quality weapon to be pretty much free. However, if you want a higher quality weapon, it'll be a multi-part treasure. So for example an Expert-level +2 weapon is a lv8 item and a free lv2 item, a +2 rune is a lv8 item, and a +2 Master weapon is two separate lv7 and lv8 items.

I mean, isn't that the whole point of having the "+2 weapon" as a single level 8 item? So you don't have to bill it as multiple different items? Or is that your point? I can't quite tell from your post if you're saying the same thing as me or the opposite.


The point is that by the time you’re handing out lv8 items, the value of a lv2 item is negligible, so you can give out the rune and a weak weapon for the same value of the rune on its own. However if you want something more complex you need to consider things separately.

Community / Forums / Archive / Pathfinder / Playtests & Prerelease Discussions / Pathfinder Playtest / Pathfinder Playtest General Discussion / Treasure tables - Potences ? All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.
Recent threads in Pathfinder Playtest General Discussion