Can an alchemist mix other thrown alchemical weapons with his bombs?


Rules Questions


If an alchemist had fast bombs and could throw 3 bombs, could he mix in other thrown items (like acid or incendiary catalyst) into his full round action?

Dark Archive

Pathfinder Starfinder Roleplaying Game Subscriber

no you can't switch between bombs and other alchemical weapons


By the rules: No.
It doesn't seem unreasonable to me to allow it though, so ask your GM (make sure they know you're not supposed to though, this might end up more unbalanced than I think)

Grand Lodge

Pathfinder Adventure Path Subscriber

Alchemical items require a move action to draw, Alchemist's bombs don't. So, by the rules at least, the items cannot be included in a multi attack.


Oh right, I didn't think of that.
What would you say if they had quick-draw?


Also alchemists use a discovery that allows them to mix and throw multiple bombs as a full round action. I can see people arguing otherwise, but by the way its worded you are stuck throwing bombs for the entire action.

Sovereign Court

Quick Draw explicitly says you cannot quick draw alchemical items.
However, the Underground Chemist archetype for Rogue does allow you to draw alchemicals as if they were weapons, allowing quick draw again.


Meirril wrote:
Also alchemists use a discovery that allows them to mix and throw multiple bombs as a full round action.

Yup, FAST BOMBS. That's what the OP's talking about.

And you're correct, by the rules this ONLY applies to bombs (because it's written that way).

Firebug wrote:

Quick Draw explicitly says you cannot quick draw alchemical items.

However, the Underground Chemist archetype for Rogue does allow you to draw alchemicals as if they were weapons, allowing quick draw again.

What would people say to someone who had a 2 level dip in UNDERGROUND CHEMIST Rogue, and has the Fast Bombs discovery and the Quick Draw feat?

For the record, we've answered this as a rules question (no you can't do it, Fast Bombs is worded in such a way that it only works with bombs).

Sovereign Court

An Underground Chemist could full attack with alchemical items, sure.
If I was the GM I would evaluate the power level of the character compared to the rest of the party before I allowed it.

Grand Lodge

Pathfinder Adventure Path Subscriber

I can see that it is certainly written as bombs only, but in a home game I'd allow it. They player would have to have gone with a very specific selection of archetypes and feats to gain the ability, probably sub-optimally, so why the hell not.


If someone took 2 levels and a 2 feats and a discovery to add it in, I'd allow it by sheer investment. But that's a lot to change it. RAW is right, bombs only though.


I actually just re-read Fast bombs for another thread, and the last sentence made me question whether we're reading this correctly?

Quote:
This functions just like a full-attack with a ranged weapon.

Thoughts?

Silver Crusade

MrCharisma wrote:

I actually just re-read Fast bombs for another thread, and the last sentence made me question whether we're reading this correctly?

Quote:
This functions just like a full-attack with a ranged weapon.
Thoughts?

Fast Bombs : Bombs = Full-attack : ranged (non-alchemical) weapons


No, it's sort of obvious that this thing is not an option when you have people misrepresenting text to try and make it work.

Fast bombs is strictly bombs only.


Yeah I think you're right - it's bombs only.

(It's obviously not obvious or there wouldn't be 2 current threads discussing it)


MrCharisma wrote:

Yeah I think you're right - it's bombs only.

(It's obviously not obvious or there wouldn't be 2 current threads discussing it)

Poor benchmark for whether something has any worth, if I got multiple discussions going on the health benefits of drinking bleach it wouldn't mean the answer isn't obvious (but there will still be someone argues otherwise) and there isn't a discussion on the actual point, the answer is a hard no.


Yes I do think it's obvious fast bombs is about making bombs faster.

But it's ok still to ask.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder RPG / Rules Questions / Can an alchemist mix other thrown alchemical weapons with his bombs? All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.