General Rules


General Discussion


Good afternoon, I have some questions to ask; I thank anyone who has the patience to help me:

1.1) The Spell Combination Feat (wizard) allows you to combine two equal spells? for example two Polar Ray?
1.2) The Spell Combination Feat how does it work in case the two spells have different Spellcasting actions?

2.1) Can the Focus Conservation Feat (Wizard) also be used on the spell retrieved by the Feat itself? thus giving rise to a chain of uses of the Feat?
2.2) The Focus Conservation Feat how does it work if the magic involved already has Somatic Spellcasting?

3) Can the Party Currency be used by Characters to buy magical items and consumables (such as parchments) freely? or if they can do it, are the items bought by the Master (thus limiting the purchase of too many powerful consumables)?

4) Finally, is it possible to leave my feedback on the game and if so, where can I do it?


1.1) Nothing in Spell Combination restricts you from combining the same spell, although in a lot of cases you'd have redundant effects.
1.2) It isn't addressed. Presumably, you take the greater of the two action costs.

2.1) Yes, that's the intent! It's difficult to set up a situation where chaining together uses of Focus Conservation is actually useful, though, since you need to plan several moves ahead.
2.2) You add a somatic casting action. If there's already a somatic casting action, now you have two somatic casting actions.

3) The availability of magical items is generally GM discretion.

4) The playtest ended after December 31st, so you are too late to submit playtest feedback. You can create a thread here if you want, but the wheels are already in motion for the release version of PF2.


QuidEst wrote:

1.1) Nothing in Spell Combination restricts you from combining the same spell, although in a lot of cases you'd have redundant effects.

1.2) It isn't addressed. Presumably, you take the greater of the two action costs.

2.1) Yes, that's the intent! It's difficult to set up a situation where chaining together uses of Focus Conservation is actually useful, though, since you need to plan several moves ahead.
2.2) You add a somatic casting action. If there's already a somatic casting action, now you have two somatic casting actions.

3) The availability of magical items is generally GM discretion.

4) The playtest ended after December 31st, so you are too late to submit playtest feedback. You can create a thread here if you want, but the wheels are already in motion for the release version of PF2.

Thanks for answering me, so according to 1.1) it is correct to be able to make two Polar Ray for a total of 26d8 damage? (I ask because I thought so many)


Mystogan wrote:
QuidEst wrote:

1.1) Nothing in Spell Combination restricts you from combining the same spell, although in a lot of cases you'd have redundant effects.

1.2) It isn't addressed. Presumably, you take the greater of the two action costs.

2.1) Yes, that's the intent! It's difficult to set up a situation where chaining together uses of Focus Conservation is actually useful, though, since you need to plan several moves ahead.
2.2) You add a somatic casting action. If there's already a somatic casting action, now you have two somatic casting actions.

3) The availability of magical items is generally GM discretion.

4) The playtest ended after December 31st, so you are too late to submit playtest feedback. You can create a thread here if you want, but the wheels are already in motion for the release version of PF2.

Thanks for answering me, so according to 1.1) it is correct to be able to make two Polar Ray for a total of 26d8 damage? (I ask because I thought so many)

Yup one of your 9th level spells would be able to do that :D Capstones need to be good xD


Mystogan wrote:
Thanks for answering me, so according to 1.1) it is correct to be able to make two Polar Ray for a total of 26d8 damage? (I ask because I thought so many)

Assuming that Polar Ray does 13d8 damage as an 8th level spell (I don't know the updated damage amounts), then yes.

After all, you're trading the ability to cast Time Stop (three non-damaging turns in exchange for one turn) or Wish (extremely versatile) for combining two damaging turns into one. That's to one target, and in place of whatever Meteor Swarm does.


1 person marked this as a favorite.

You were very clear and very kind, thank you very much

Community / Forums / Archive / Pathfinder / Playtests & Prerelease Discussions / Pathfinder Playtest / Pathfinder Playtest General Discussion / General Rules All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.
Recent threads in Pathfinder Playtest General Discussion