Taking cover


Playing the Game


May I get a little assistance here Paizonians. On page 314 of the Playtest book there is a diagram of Cover and Screening. Please refer to that page for the following questions.

If I was playing Seoni (#4) could I use the Take Cover action since I am somewhat behind Valeros (#1)?

If I was playing Seoni (#4) if I were one step to the right thus being directly behind Valeros (#1) could I use the Take Cover action?

Sorry I didn't know how to best optimally draw out the example here, thanks all.


Anyone?


I think the Take Cover action isn't phrased in a way where you could 100% see it one way or another. In my reading of the rules you wouldn't be able to Take Cover behind a monster (unless it had the sufficient size to grant you cover normally).

The issue I am having for being 100% about my view of the rules is the text for Take Cover:

"Requirements: You are benefiting from cover or are near a feature
that allows you to take cover."

While you are clearly not benefitting from cover in the current situation the second part of the requirement isn't very specific to me. Does it refer to the action itself or does it refer to the more general term of taking cover.

But my reading of the rule is that you have to be within reach of an object or some terrain/creature that would be able to grant you cover in order to take cover. However I am not sure which scenarios would grant you +2 instead of +4, because if you can take cover why wouldn't you already be benefiting for the cover. And I couldn't imagine Valeros using Take Cover with his current position to get a bonus against attacks from Kyra with the placement from your example.


Yes it would not be possible for Valeros to take cover he's directly infront of the monster. I'm referring to Seoni who has Valeros infront of her (which I intrepret as a feature that lets you take over, he's an obstacle).


I know. I was going towards a new scenario in the end (which is why it's with Kyra instead of Seoni).

But back to your issue. It isn't stated what a "feature that allows you to take cover" is. Valeros can't grant cover to Seoni because he isn't large enough (with just the regular cover rules), so personally I don't see him as a feature that allows you to take cover.


That diagram also doesn't explain screening very well, either.

Character on the far right, who is drawing a line through a corner of a fully solid square: is that screening?


Draco18s wrote:

That diagram also doesn't explain screening very well, either.

Character on the far right, who is drawing a line through a corner of a fully solid square: is that screening?

Well it's cover. So better than screening. But if Merisiel used a ranged attack, I don't see the ogre having screening against that.

A bigger issue I have with the diagram is that I don't understand how the Ogre is only screened from Kyras ranged attack. Unless it's impossible to get cover from ranged attacks, which would be odd to me.


This is all so confusing

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder Playtest / Player Rules / Playing the Game / Taking cover All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.
Recent threads in Playing the Game