Questions on hybridization funnel / focusing flask.


Rules Questions


1) Does a hybridization funnel allow 2xint damage when thrown by an alchemist?
2) Can you use a focusing flask with a hybridization funnel?
3) Can a hybridization funnel combine items from a focusing flask?
4) Does a focusing flask allow 3xint damage when thrown by an alchemist?

Relevant focusing flask text:
If multiple types of alchemical items are poured in, all the contents are ruined. The flask can be thrown as a normal splash weapon, and when it breaks, it releases all of the contained splash weapons in the same space, and the focusing flask is destroyed.

Relevant hybridization funnel text:
Success means the two materials are safely mixed into one vial that is the same volume as a normal splash weapon vial; when thrown as a splash weapon, the mixture has the effects of both component substances and creatures are affected as if hit by both.


Mister Socks wrote:

1) Does a hybridization funnel allow 2xint damage when thrown by an alchemist?

2) Can you use a focusing flask with a hybridization funnel?
3) Can a hybridization funnel combine items from a focusing flask?
4) Does a focusing flask allow 3xint damage when thrown by an alchemist?

Relevant focusing flask text:
If multiple types of alchemical items are poured in, all the contents are ruined. The flask can be thrown as a normal splash weapon, and when it breaks, it releases all of the contained splash weapons in the same space, and the focusing flask is destroyed.

Relevant hybridization funnel text:
Success means the two materials are safely mixed into one vial that is the same volume as a normal splash weapon vial; when thrown as a splash weapon, the mixture has the effects of both component substances and creatures are affected as if hit by both.

1) Yes, creatures are affected as if hit by both splash weapons, this means that for each one an alchemist applies their int modifier.

2) Maybe, hybridization funnel only says the result is a mixture, it does not specify whether it is an alchemical item. If it is one, then it works, if not then no.

3) No, "it releases all of the contained splash weapons", you could combine singular items, but the focusing flask holds multiple splash weapons, not just one.

4) Yes, it releases 3 items, not a singular one, therefore it applies to each instance. Technically the target(s) would get to make up to three saves (at an increased DC) and if they make any one of them, they count as succeeding for all of them.


Mister Socks wrote:

1) Does a hybridization funnel allow 2xint damage when thrown by an alchemist?

2) Can you use a focusing flask with a hybridization funnel?
3) Can a hybridization funnel combine items from a focusing flask?
4) Does a focusing flask allow 3xint damage when thrown by an alchemist?

Well...

Hybridization Funnel:Success means the two materials are safely mixed into one vial that is the same volume as a normal splash weapon vial; when thrown as a splash weapon, the mixture has the effects of both component substances and creatures are affected as if hit by both.
The result is only a single weapon.
Focusing Flask:The flask can be thrown as a normal splash weapon, and when it breaks, it releases all of the contained splash weapons in the same space, and the focusing flask is destroyed.
The result is only a single weapon.
Alchemist:An alchemist adds his Intelligence modifier to damage done with splash weapons, including the splash damage if any.

1) No. The damage is per weapon, not per component weapon. Since the funnel generates a single weapon with extra damage, it only benefits from the alchemist once.

2) Depends if the "mixture" is considered "alchemical". It is a splash weapon. I lean toward the mixture is not alchemical, since it has a consistent expiration time no matter the source components. This sais magic to me.

3) No. The flask does not indicate you can pour out, and given the base spell shrink item, I feel it is more a space saver and not a true combination.

4) Again, No. See #1.

/cevah


Concur with Cevah. you also only get your stat to damage once, period. this would be in line with RAI. its very difficult and against stated RAI to get double the same stat to almost anything, and they've worked very hard to make sure you cant.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Questions on hybridization funnel / focusing flask. All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.