Does a Hard Light Shield from Technology Guide occupy your hand?


Rules Questions

Sovereign Court

Pathfinder Starfinder Adventure Path, Starfinder Roleplaying Game Subscriber
Technology guide says wrote:

This bulky bracelet is covered in blinking blue lights and pulsing holographic emitters. A hard light shield produces a translucent but substantial holographic barrier when activated. The shield bonus counts as a force effect and applies to the wielder's touch AC against beam and ray attacks (but not other touch attacks). As a transparent force effect, a hard light shield provides no bonus against lasers. A hard light shield can be used to deliver shield bash attacks like a heavy shield.

When turned off, a hard light shield provides no AC bonus and imposes no spell failure chance. Activating or deactivating a hard light shield is a move action. This item occupies the wearer's wrist slot.

Does the hard light shield occupy a hand as well as the wrists slot?


My reading is that no, it does not. It only mentions occupying a wrist slot, and further, it's the bracelet itself that emits the shield. You're not actually holding anything, and therefore, it does not occupy a hand slot.

Liberty's Edge

Pathfinder Companion Subscriber; Pathfinder Roleplaying Game Superscriber

I concur with GM Rednal, but note that you need to use your arm, so you can't attack with that arm.

Scarab Sages

1 person marked this as a favorite.
James Krolak wrote:
Does the hard light shield occupy a hand as well as the wrists slot?

It SHOULD occupy the forehead slot, where it is projected from a glittery ornament shaped like a letter H. Just saying.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Does a Hard Light Shield from Technology Guide occupy your hand? All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.