Multiple instances of altering die rolls


Rules Questions


Hello! I have faced a paradox and would like some official ruling on the issue. What would happen if multiple versions of altering a die roll were used at once?

For example, what if a Cyclopean Seer oracle used Flash of Insight to declare their next roll would be a 15, while a Ronin used Chosen Destiny to declare it a natural 20, while a wizard used mythic wish to make it a natural 1? What would be the result of the die roll?

If mythic spellcasting takes priority what happens if a 15th level samurai uses their ability against a 1st level oracle using flash of insight?


The wish seems like the trickiest part of all this. It has to be cast on the wizard’s turn as a standard action...but declaring “the oracle’s next roll will be a 1” seems WELL within the power parameters of a 9th level spell.
As for the other two, the Oracle ability is an immediate reaction, so it can be used at any time, while the Ronin has to use it before the roll is made. I’m leaning toward whichever ability was used last would get the override, at least between the Ronin and Oracle. A wish (mythic wish...isn’t a thing? But I get the idea) should probably be stronger than a 1/day racial, or even a 15th level order ability, so that might be an exception to the “order of operations” theory. I have no idea if there might be a more official ruling for it.


I'd say an immediate overrides a swift, after that mythic overrides non mythic.

After that? I'd say GM saying "come on dood please stop giving me a headache" should override them all?


I would go with the last applied takes precedence over existing effects.


I appreciate the opinions but not what I'm looking for. I already know how I'd handle it as a DM but I would like to know if anyone has some RAW to close the book on this. This situation is very unlikely to come up but it could in organized play between a level 15 ronin and cyclopean seer oracle. There might be other ways to do it that I don't know about as well.


No, there's no RAW on this. obscure corner cases are what DMs are for, RAW cant apply to absolutely everything, or the core books would be like law tomes, more than they already are. Up to GM discretion


Weables wrote:
No, there's no RAW on this. obscure corner cases are what DMs are for, RAW cant apply to absolutely everything, or the core books would be like law tomes, more than they already are. Up to GM discretion

True. And this particular corner case can only work when a Ronin wants to affect an oracle’s roll, since the Oracle ability only works on his/her own rolls. And each only gets the ability once per day. I’d say the chances of this ever happening are beyond slim, and being prepared for it is really overkill.


There has to be an official ruling on this because it could legally happen in a society game lol


then you need to ask your local venture captain, or hit the PFS forums. official rulings for the purposes of PFS don't happen here.


Revengeancer wrote:
There has to be an official ruling on this because it could legally happen in a society game lol
Weables wrote:
then you need to ask your local venture captain, or hit the PFS forums. official rulings for the purposes of PFS don't happen here.

As weables said if you want a PFS ruling you might want to ask there however I don't think your getting a mythic wish in PFS anyways.

Second, no just because something could happen doesn't mean its already been ruled on there are so many feats, spells, and other things than can interact in various ways that would make it impossible to pre-rule on every existing case.


Nothing in the rules state that any of these have precedence over the other. RAW all of these can alter a roll and none of them say that they take precedence over anything. That would mean that RAW the last effect applied is the one that works.

You are complicating something that is actually very simple.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Multiple instances of altering die rolls All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.