Powers & Spell Points


General Discussion


Can someone please clarify Spell Points.

Monks - A Monk chooses the Ki Strike Power and gains a Spell Point Pool. To use Ki Strike I assume he needs to spend 1 Spell Point per use ?

Druids - A Druid gains a wild pool equal to Str for wild morph. Can you use Spell points to use this as well as it is a Power ? I assume if you did you would need a number of SP's equal to the level you wanted to invoke the Power?

Basically, as I understand it. Powers need a number of Spell Points equal to the Power level ?


1 person marked this as a favorite.

Powers all require spell points to use, and powers all say somewhere in the feat or ability that grants them how many points they require (Ranges from 1 to 3 depending on the power).

...actually only MOST powers do. For some reason Monk's Ki Strike and Wizard's Hand of the Apprentice do not list their 1 point cost. I believe errata fixed this.

However Wild Shape is not a Power, it is a separate pool of points you gain that you can draw from to cast certain spells, as is clarified in the Wild Shape feat description. It's more like Cleric's Channel Energy than it is like a power.


1 person marked this as a favorite.

There's part of me that wishes stuff like Wild Shape and Channel Energy just used spell points, if for other reason than to cut down on pools to track I'm not sure that it hits the balance point Paizo wants, but I kind of wish powers were on that level of well, power. Or at least felt a LITTLE more functional than they currently are.


Yeah, from what I have read MOST powers don't list a cost. Which is why I 'assumed' Power cost equaled their level.
EXAMPLE
FEY DISAPPEARANCE POWER 3
You can ignore natural difficult terrain (such as underbrush). Once
this spell comes into effect, you can immediately Step or Stride.
If you have a pool of Spell Points, you can increase the cost
of fey disappearance by 2 Spell Points to also turn invisible for
the spell’s duration, before taking your Step or Stride. Acting in a
hostile manner doesn’t dismiss this invisibility.

This power doesn't list a cost, only the cost to ENHANCE the power. So I would assume you spend 3 points to activate the power, and 2 more if you want to go Invisible ?

EXAMPLE
FIRE RAY POWER 1
Attempt a ranged touch Strike against the target. If you succeed
at the attack, you deal fire damage to the target equal to 1d6 plus
your spellcasting ability modifier.
Heightened (+1) The ray’s damage increases by 1d6.

Again, this power doesn't list a cost. MOST don't. Again I assume the cost would be 1 SP + 1 SP per level it was heightened ?


If I remember correctly all powers cost 1 spell point unless it says otherwise. If I’m wrong please let me know but I’m almost positive it has nothing to do with the power’s level. The level is an indicator of how high it can be heightened if applicable and for purposes of counteracting effects.


Ah, that would actually make more sense, given how few SP's you have :)


I believe that's correct. Cost may be listed elsewhere. For example, Cleric Domain powers work like that. The Cleric section is what says "all basic domain powers cost 1 spell point, the advanced ones cost the listed amount."


orphias wrote:

Yeah, from what I have read MOST powers don't list a cost. Which is why I 'assumed' Power cost equaled their level.

EXAMPLE
FEY DISAPPEARANCE POWER 3
You can ignore natural difficult terrain (such as underbrush). Once
this spell comes into effect, you can immediately Step or Stride.
If you have a pool of Spell Points, you can increase the cost
of fey disappearance by 2 Spell Points to also turn invisible for
the spell’s duration, before taking your Step or Stride. Acting in a
hostile manner doesn’t dismiss this invisibility.

This power doesn't list a cost, only the cost to ENHANCE the power. So I would assume you spend 3 points to activate the power, and 2 more if you want to go Invisible ?

EXAMPLE
FIRE RAY POWER 1
Attempt a ranged touch Strike against the target. If you succeed
at the attack, you deal fire damage to the target equal to 1d6 plus
your spellcasting ability modifier.
Heightened (+1) The ray’s damage increases by 1d6.

Again, this power doesn't list a cost. MOST don't. Again I assume the cost would be 1 SP + 1 SP per level it was heightened ?

That would be why I specified that the feat/ability you get them FROM tells the cost. The domains section of the cleric chapter explains base domain power cost. The advanced domain feat tells you the cost of your power, or at least where to look on the domain table for it. Druid feats that give new powers list their cost, etc.

The entry in the Spells chapter doesn't list cost, it''s already listed in the part of your class you got the power from.

Community / Forums / Archive / Pathfinder / Playtests & Prerelease Discussions / Pathfinder Playtest / Pathfinder Playtest General Discussion / Powers & Spell Points All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.
Recent threads in Pathfinder Playtest General Discussion