Channeling feats on a character with multiple channeling sources


Rules Questions


I'm wondering what everyone's thoughts are about the following.

A character uses their channeling ability from one class to meet the prerequisites for a feat such as fateful channel, liberation channel, or conversion channel. But they also have another pool of channeling energy - say just 1d6 - by taking levels in a different class. Can the character apply the benefit of these feats with the little channel?

The wording of the benefit for these feats doesn't seem restricted to the larger channel, making me think it's allowed. However, it seems possibly unintended, and I would not be surprised if it's been FAQ'ed, etc.

Thanks!


That's really up the GM.

One side, they don't meet the prereqs. If you need 3d6 to qualify you can't use 1d6.

On the other it does just say "if you channel energy then..."

I would be of the former but I can certainly see the RAW case for the latter.


Channel pools are separate, and the second channel pool doesn't meet the prerequisite of 3d6.


SorrySleeping wrote:
Channel pools are separate, and the second channel pool doesn't meet the prerequisite of 3d6.

I completely understand your reasoning. However, I don't thing a channel pool has to meet the pre-req's for anything. The character does. The argument in favor is that your character has already done what is necessary to take the feat, and the benefit of the feat allows you to improve any channel you create.


While the three listed feats are deity linked, they are not class linked. Nor do they say you use Xd6 worth of channel to cause the effect.

I see no reason the feat would not apply to any pool you have. Were this a class feature, however, then it would be limited to the class's pool.

/cevah

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Channeling feats on a character with multiple channeling sources All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.