Character Audit and Old Crafting Rules


Pathfinder Society

4/5 Venture-Agent, Massachusetts—Southcoast aka JDDyslexia

Hi everyone. I've got a really interesting head-scratcher here and was hoping for some advice.

So, my -1 has been sitting on the shelf for over a year. I started the character 5 seasons ago and she's at level 11. Since it was my first character, I realize my paperwork skills were not up to snuff (i.e. I never used an Inventory Tracking Sheet), so since I'm trying to get her towards 12-15 scenarios, I decided to audit the character and update my paperwork accordingly. Thankfully, my purchases and sales are well documented on the chronicle sheets themselves.

The problem I'm having is that she's a Poisoner archetype, and going through my purchases, it seems me and the GM (a good friend of mine) thought that crafting a poison gave you a 5% discount, rather than what seems to be a 1/3 discount according to the FAQ (as the FAQ tells me to use the Crafting rules).

There are GM initials on the purchases because I remember having to roll to make the items (and can see in some situations where I failed the rolls), but I was definitely short-changing myself on the cost. In light of this, I have some questions:

---Did the rules change at some point? Was the 5% discount correct at one point in time and then updated to the current rules? If so, then it seems like I was following the correct guidelines at the time (for reference, the first sheet I see this with crafted items is dated June 2014)

---If the rules have always been the same, can I retroactively update my chronicle sheets, noting changes where they apply to reflect the correct costs (thus giving me extra money in the long run)? I'd initial all the changes (or have another V-A do it) and then have to update all my gold totals for the ~20 chronicle sheets since then (time to break out the White Out)

---IF I have the ability to retroactively update my chronicle sheets, is there a cleaner way to do it?

Thanks in advance for the advice. :)

The Exchange 5/5 Venture-Lieutenant, Texas—Dallas & Ft. Worth aka Belafon

That’s always been the rule.

As for updating your chronicle: I suppose you could go back and correct them. (It is, after all, an error on your chronicles.) Or you could just let it be. Unless the amount is quite significant - which it could be, with poisons - I would just ignore it.

If you do decide to correct it, just make a list on the back of your last chronicle with a heading like “I thought the price for crafting poisons was 95%, not 33% of cost. Therefore I get a refund on the following purchases.”
Then list all your purchased poisons

Chronicle Number - Poison Name - Quantity - Total Refund Due

Total it up and ask a GM to review and sign. Add as additional gold earned on your next chronicle with a note as to why (“error corrections, see back of previous chronicle”).

4/5 Venture-Agent, Massachusetts—Southcoast aka JDDyslexia

Thanks!

Scarab Sages 5/5

just want to be sure you get the prices correct... and it sounds like maybe you're still shorting yourself.

Unless the rules are different from an Alchemist crafting items, you would craft items at 1/3 the cost, which I would say is a 2/3 discount.

So if you craft 300 gp in items (poisons?) it would cost your PC 100gp to make them.

Or maybe you are doing it correctly, but I was not understanding your statement about "1/3 discount"...

4/5 Venture-Agent, Massachusetts—Southcoast aka JDDyslexia

Yeah, bad wording on my part. I'm aware that I pay 1/3 cost.

4/5 Venture-Agent, Massachusetts—Southcoast aka JDDyslexia

Although, interesting follow-up:

If there is a poison listed on a chronicle sheet that's normally not available, can I craft the poison instead of purchasing it (still adhering to any limitations on how many I can acquire)?

The Exchange 5/5 Venture-Lieutenant, Texas—Dallas & Ft. Worth aka Belafon

Joe Bouchard wrote:

Although, interesting follow-up:

If there is a poison listed on a chronicle sheet that's normally not available, can I craft the poison instead of purchasing it (still adhering to any limitations on how many I can acquire)?

PFS FAQ wrote:
Characters who can purchase and use poisons may also use Craft (alchemy) to produce poisons that are legal for them to purchase.

4/5 Venture-Agent, Massachusetts—Southcoast aka JDDyslexia

Thanks. I thought that'd be the case but wanted to make sure it applied to poisons on chronicle sheets as well as always available.

Community / Forums / Organized Play / Pathfinder Society / Character Audit and Old Crafting Rules All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.