Crafting Magic Items With The Aid Of Scrolls?


Rules Questions

The Exchange

I am looking over the rules for magic item creation and I swear there was something about using scrolls as a replacement for the spells that you may not have.

For example I'm looking at the Demon Mother's Mask which requires this:
Requirements Craft Wondrous Item, detect animals or plants, polymorph, summon monster II, creator must have 5 ranks in Handle Animal and Heal.

Now considering not all of these spells come from the same list, would it be possible to buy a scroll of each of those spells to avoid having the +5 added to the crafting DLC or can that not be done?

Same for Golems and such, besides the feats which you certainly need, can you use scrolls in placement of the spells?


Relevant FAQ

TL;DR: You can use scrolls, but you have to be able to cast the spells from the scrolls somehow (or find a friend to do so).

Grand Lodge

blahpers wrote:

Relevant FAQ

TL;DR: You can use scrolls, but you have to be able to cast the spells from the scrolls somehow (or find a friend to do so).

Also you need to use 1 scroll per day of crafting.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder RPG / Rules Questions / Crafting Magic Items With The Aid Of Scrolls? All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.