Can Merisiel evade face-up cards? And what happens to them if she does?


Rules Questions and Gameplay Discussion

Scarab Sages

So we're playing through Skull and Shackles, and after a player failed to defeat the barrier "Pirate Hunting," which has the player summon and encounter a random ship. The card says: "If the summoned card is not defeated, leave the barrier faceup on the location deck and put the summoned card next to it.

"Characters at this location encounter the summoned card as their first exploration each turn. If the summoned card is defeated, banish it; this barrier is also defeated."

Now Merisiel comes to this location and encounters this card.

I assume she can evade the barrier and the summoned ship, though this soaks up her first exploration. But what, if anything, happens to the card then? Some players suggested that since the card was evaded, it should be shuffled back into the location. Others argued that this isn't in the spirit of the card and that the barrier should remain face up on top of the location deck until someone comes along and defeats it.

Any ideas? And do any rules specifically address this point? We haven't been able to find one. I believe that technically this card is still part of the location deck and remains on top and is not a displayed card, if that matters.


1 person marked this as a favorite.
Pathfinder Card Game Subscriber

There was an FAQ for this.

Scarab Sages

Thanks. I missed that in the FAQ somehow.


The FAQ seems to be answering a different question. If she evades the ship, then the barrier stays on top, that's kind of what I would have expected anyway (though I can see why RAW was different without the FAQ).

But what if she evades the barrier itself? I would have thought if she evades the barrier, the ship is never summoned to begin with, and the barrier is shuffled back into the deck, whether it came from the top of the deck or elsewhere.


Read the woids.*

In the OP, Merisiel never encounters the barrier. Someone else encountered the barrier on a previous turn and failed to defeat the summoned ship. Merisiel then moved to the location on a subsequent turn. The barrier's power instructs characters to encounter the summoned card as their first exploration, not the barrier. This is exactly the question addressed by the FAQ.

But to answer your question: Yep. If Merisiel had actually been the character who had initially encountered the barrier, she could have evaded the barrier, in which case the barrier would shuffle back into the location. OR she could have summoned the ship and then evaded that (which would be a curious choice, as it would leave the barrier on top of the deck, but could happen if the player realized they had a poor chance of defeating the ship.)

*This was the mantra of my 8th grade algebra teacher. (He was from the Bronx.)


elcoderdude wrote:

Read the woids.*

In the OP, Merisiel never encounters the barrier. Someone else encountered the barrier on a previous turn and failed to defeat the summoned ship. Merisiel then moved to the location on a subsequent turn. The barrier's power instructs characters to encounter the summoned card as their first exploration, not the barrier. This is exactly the question addressed by the FAQ.

But to answer your question: Yep. If Merisiel had actually been the character who had initially encountered the barrier, she could have evaded the barrier, in which case the barrier would shuffle back into the location. OR she could have summoned the ship and then evaded that (which would be a curious choice, as it would leave the barrier on top of the deck, but could happen if the player realized they had a poor chance of defeating the ship.)

*This was the mantra of my 8th grade algebra teacher. (He was from the Bronx.)

Ok, my problem was that Pirate Hunting works differently to other similar barriers. On Pirate Hunting you encounter just the ship on subsequent explores, not the barrier itself.

But the title of the topic is "face-up cards", so it's still relevant what happens in the more common case. Let's say Collapsed Ceiling is failed and put top of a location deck. Next turn Merisiel comes along, explores, encounters Collapsed Ceiling, and evades it. Where does it go? I would think it gets shuffled back in to the deck (face down).


1 person marked this as a favorite.
Irgy wrote:
Let's say Collapsed Ceiling is failed and put top of a location deck. Next turn Merisiel comes along, explores, encounters Collapsed Ceiling, and evades it. Where does it go?

The Mummy's Mask rulebook seems to answer this:

MM Rulebook, p. 10, Faceup Cards sidebar wrote:
Sometimes a card is left faceup on the top of the location deck. The card is still in the deck, and it can never leave the top of the deck until it is defeated or the condition that caused it to be left faceup on the deck has been resolved. (Emphasis mine. - P)

Evading it doesn't defeat it or answer a special resolve condition, so it remains on top of the deck.

This wording is different from the ones in the earlier rulebooks, adding the never.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder Adventure Card Game / Rules Questions and Gameplay Discussion / Can Merisiel evade face-up cards? And what happens to them if she does? All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.