Demilich question


Monsters and Hazards

Silver Crusade

The following question came up recently about the Demi Lich here are the relevant parts:

Someone said wrote:


Speed fly 30 feet (from fly)
Melee jaws +26 (reach 0 feet), Damage 1d6–3 piercing plus
2d6 negative
Arcane Innate Spells DC 32, attack +28; Constant fly, true
seeing; 9th wail of the banshee; At Will blink, dimension door,
spell turning, telekinetic maneuver; Cantrips (8th) mage hand,
telekinetic projectile

Joined Items (arcane) As a lich becomes a demilich, some of its
magic items bleed over into the substance of the creature
itself. A demilich has 20 Resonance Points, which it can use to
Activate these items (and to Trap Souls). It recovers all spent
points after 8 hours spent in torpor. Many of the specific item
abilities vary from demilich to demilich.

• Eye Gems (arcane) A demilich has eye gems that glow when
the demilich is active. It can Activate an eye gem by spending
Focus Activation actions equal to the number of spellcasting
actions the spell requires.
Each eye gem contains an 8th-
level spell that targets one creature. Usually, one eye gem
has maze and the other has polar ray. When the demilich
casts a spell from an eye gem, that eye gem stops glowing
for 1d4 rounds, during which time that eye gem’s spell can’t
be used. Occasionally, one or both of the two eye gems can be harvested from a destroyed demilich as magic items.

• Staff Gems A demilich absorbs the spells from a single staff
into gemstone nodules across its head, with larger nodules
representing higher-level spells. It can cast any of the spells
at a cost of 1 Resonance Point as though it were activating
the staff and expending a spell slot of the appropriate level.
A
typical demilich has the spells from a staff of necromancy, but
it could have those from another staff of 13th level or lower

My question is regarding the Staff Gems ability, how often can a Demilich cast spells from the staff - is it limited by the number of charges a normal staff would have (staff of necromancy at level 13 has 9 charges) or can you spam spells from your staff and you are just limited by your 20 resonance?

I assume the excessive version is the case since this would actually give the create a bit of versatility when it comes to casting (just changes the source staff and you change the spell repertoire).

How do others read it, this might be and translation issue on my end, and it made a massive difference.


1 person marked this as a favorite.

Yeah, my reading is that he can spam for as long as he has resonance, as it says "as though it were activating the staff and expending a spell slot of the appropriate level", when activating a staff by expending a spell slot you don't expend charges so a charge limit is a non-issue. It's a pretty cool ability, really. The Demilich didn't survive long enough against my party to use anything but his Eye Gems but I'm sure it would have been cool.


1 person marked this as a favorite.
Sebastian Hirsch wrote:
I assume the excessive version is the case since this would actually give the create a bit of versatility when it comes to casting (just changes the source staff and you change the spell repertoire).

Incidentally, I really like the Transmutation Staff here, because of how Humanoid Form can be used by an unusually lucid demilich to take on the appearance of how they were in life.

Silver Crusade

With the ability to spam a lot of Vampiric exsanguination, the Demilich killed my party (and more importantly kept himself alive) I was wondering if that is intentional.

Grand Lodge

I think that's how the demilich is supposed to work. He is CR15, so pretty difficult for this party.

My group spread out so that only one would be caught in the AoE. Since he only had 2 actions (due to concentrating on Maze) they were able to take him down since he wasn't able to reposition and cast spells to catch more of them in the AoE.


Can we get rules for the awakened demilich?

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder Playtest / Game Master Rules / Monsters and Hazards / Demilich question All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.
Recent threads in Monsters and Hazards