Unarmed combat questions.


Rules Questions

Scarab Sages

Couple unarmed questions
1)Do you get weapon specialization damage with unarmed strikes? What if you have improved unarmed strike?
2)Can the feat Mystic Strikes apply to unarmed strikes?
3)Can you apply fusion seals to unarmed strikes?


Pathfinder Lost Omens, Rulebook, Starfinder Adventure Path, Starfinder Roleplaying Game, Starfinder Society Subscriber

1 yes
2 yes
3 no


VampByDay wrote:

Couple unarmed questions

1)Do you get weapon specialization damage with unarmed strikes? What if you have improved unarmed strike?
2)Can the feat Mystic Strikes apply to unarmed strikes?
3)Can you apply fusion seals to unarmed strikes?

1. Further questions Does mystic strike unarmed target EAC or KAC?

2. How about grappling? I can see where with mystic strike you could possibly grapple an incorporeal but is it KAC+8 for the grapple still or does the mystic energy change the effective AC of the opponent?

Grand Lodge

Pathfinder Starfinder Adventure Path, Starfinder Society Subscriber

1. KAC.

2. You follow the normal grappling rules, KAC+8 before other feats. However, because grappling is a non-damaging attack effect, you only have a 50% chance of actually succeeding in the grapple, after you manage to connect.

I'm curious how this question came up, because Mystic Strike functions just the same for unarmed strikes as for example a longsword or a hunting rifle. Those don't change the type of AC they target from KAC to EAC either under the influence of Mystic Strike.

Edit: changed wording slightly.


Pathfinder Lost Omens, Rulebook, Starfinder Adventure Path, Starfinder Roleplaying Game, Starfinder Society Subscriber

You still can't grapple an incorporeal creature with mystic strike.

"Incorporeal creatures cannot take any physical actions that would move or manipulate an opponent or its equipment, including combat maneuvers, nor are they subject to any such actions."

Grand Lodge

Pathfinder Starfinder Adventure Path, Starfinder Society Subscriber

I missed that line while reading the incorporeal entry. Thanks!

Community / Forums / Starfinder / Rules Questions / Unarmed combat questions. All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.