Is it intended thar Celestial Totem doesn't require Lesser Celestial Totem?


Rules Questions


3 people marked this as FAQ candidate. 3 people marked this as a favorite.

I searched for this and all I got was rulings on the effects of these feats from Champions of Purity, but not this. I can see that, by RAW, Celestial Totem only has a lv8 pre-requisite and doesn't mention having to also have the Lesser version while the Greater one does require having the regular one.

Is this an editing mistake or is this intentional?


1 person marked this as a favorite.

Likely intentional as the <Tyrant Totem> rage powers also are only based on level without caring if you have the others. In regards to other Totem powers though these 'lesser prerequisite' powers are set back 2 to 4 levels later than other totem powers.


1 person marked this as a favorite.

when you look at the other totem powers you see that ALL the ones from the originel list (from adv player guide. not the extended list like from the horror or champion books, which celestial is from) have both the level and lesser version as needed. id say it's a slip of the guys who wrote the side books.

also since it's seem like a theme build on the blood rage powers - normal barbarian blood rage powers, not to mix with a bloodrager (from adv class guid,as it is also set by about the same levels AND has the same restriction of not allowing to mix difrent kinds, so aif you take celestial you can't take any other totem, same as in the blood rage pwoers if you took draconic for example you couldn't take other non-draconic blood powers later on)
id refer to that guide's rule which is very clear there:
"Blood rage powers grant powers in a theme. A barbarian cannot select from more than one group of blood rage powers. A barbarian of any level can take a lesser blood rage power. The middle blood rage power (that without “lesser” or “greater” in the title) can only be taken by a 6th level or higher barbarian that already has the lesser blood rage power of its group. A greater blood rage power can only be taken by a 10th level or higher barbarian that already has the middle blood rage power."


Tbh just take the lesser totem anyways; it seems pretty good if you're receiving healing from other party members.

Also as a side note from investigation: It seems nothing after the APG and UC where Totem Rage Powers were introduced includes 'lesser' totems in their prerequisites. Idk if they just assumed 'well the other totems had that limitation, they'll understand' or what.

Assume you need to progress the whole tree as zza ni suggests. Or if a GM for a home game is lenient, go for it.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Is it intended thar Celestial Totem doesn't require Lesser Celestial Totem? All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.