Sliding Dash


Rules Questions


3 people marked this as FAQ candidate.

Ok, the feat

Sliding Dash (Combat) wrote:

Source Ultimate Intrigue pg. 91

Your seemingly reckless advance becomes an agile strike at the last moment.

Prerequisites: Dex 15, Acrobatics 10 ranks or acrobatic charge class feature, Bluff 3 ranks.

Benefit: When charging, instead of moving to the closest space from which you can attack your target, you can move to the space adjacent to your target and on the other side of it, as long as you move through the closest space from which you can attack the target and through the target’s space to get there. When you move through the target’s space, you must attempt an Acrobatics check with a DC equal to 10 + your opponent’s CMD. Success allows you to move through the target’s space without provoking an attack of opportunity from that target, and when you arrive in the destination space and make your attack, the target is considered flanked for that attack (or the first attack if you have more than one attack on a charge). On a failed check, you instead provoke an attack of opportunity and complete the charge as normal. Whether or not you succeed at the Acrobatics check, you take a –4 penalty to your AC until the start of your turn, instead of the normal –2 penalty.

Normal: When charging, you must end the movement part of a charge in the closest space in which you can attack your target.

How does this work? Assume a large creature with 10' reach, and a PC with 5' reach. The following is the tactical diagram :

1234
5678
9MMa
bMMc
defg
hIjk

Where I is the PC, MM is the monster, and 1-9,a-h,j&k are empty spaces.

The PC (I) will attempt to charge to square 6 using sliding dash.

1) How many acrobatics checks, if any will the PC have to make? He is passing through 2 squares of monster base.

2) If he fails a check, he will " provoke an attack of opportunity and complete the charge as normal". Does that mean the PC will end up in square e or square 6?

3) If he ends up in square e, does the PC get the effects of a charge (ie +2 to hit and other effects that trigger on a charge)?

If the PC has full concealment with respect to the monster - so it cannot take an AoO (you cannot take AoO's against a character with full concealment from you).

4)Does the PC still have to make the acrobatics check(s)?

5) Where does he end up if the PC fails the acrobatics check(s)? (He is definitely not eating the AoO)

Liberty's Edge

3 people marked this as FAQ candidate.

I also have a few questions regarding this feat:

1) May the additional movement spent traversing the opponent's square(s) count toward the 10' minimum required in a charge?

2) Is the attacker required to stop immediately upon reaching the other side of the opponent, or, assuming sufficient movement, may he precede farther (such as to more easily deploy a reach weapon)?


Quote:

How does this work? Assume a large creature with 10' reach, and a PC with 5' reach. The following is the tactical diagram :

1234
5678
9MMa
bMMc
defg
hIjk

Where I is the PC, MM is the monster, and 1-9,a-h,j&k are empty spaces.

.

OOOO
O6OO
OMMO
OMMO
OEOO
OOOO
OPOO
.

I'm just gonna use a diagram with a player 10 ft away from the monster, as to avoid the question Mike Schneider stated.
Otherwise, here's my take on it.

****

Quote:

1) How many acrobatics checks, if any will the PC have to make? He is passing through 2 squares of monster base.

2) If he fails a check, he will " provoke an attack of opportunity and complete the charge as normal". Does that mean the PC will end up in square e or square 6?

3) If he ends up in square e, does the PC get the effects of a charge (ie +2 to hit and other effects that trigger on a charge)?

If the PC has full concealment with respect to the monster - so it cannot take an AoO (you cannot take AoO's against a character with full concealment from you).

4)Does the PC still have to make the acrobatics check(s)?

5) Where does he end up if the PC fails the acrobatics check(s)? (He is definitely not eating the AoO)

I think that Sliding Dash uses the normal rules for acrobatics to move through an enemy's space, and that many of these questions can be answered if we look to those rules.

Acrobatics FAQ

Answers to the questions:
So the answer to 1) should be "one", as the feat refers to the monster's space, not square(s).

*

2)

Acrobatics wrote:
If you attempt to move through an enemy’s space and fail the check, you lose the move action and provoke an attack of opportunity.

Probably end up in square "e".

I hadn't considered that Sliding Dash might allow you to complete the charge on the opposite side even with a failed check, so I'll look forward to if the FAQ request leads anywhere.

*

3)

Sliding Dash says that you complete the charge as normal. So yes, you should.

*

4)

Most probably. I believe even invisible opponents have to make the acrobatics check to move through someone's space.

*

5)

The consequences for failing the acrobatics check to move through someone's space is that you lose your move action and provoke an AoO. Regardless if the attack hits or not.
So the answer to 3) and 5) should be the same.


Mike Schneider wrote:

I also have a few questions regarding this feat:

1) May the additional movement spent traversing the opponent's square(s) count toward the 10' minimum required in a charge?

I'd say yes, but the question is if the feat's benefit is an option only when we've already started the charge, or if we can use Sliding Dash to qualify for the charge action.

The feat says "When charging", which may prevent this.

If we can't use Sliding Dash to qualify, then Wheeling Charge and (especially) Sharp Veer wouldn't find much use.

Wheeling Charge

Equipment Trick (Boot tricks: Sharp Veer)

Edit: I find this highly unlikely as there are feats which simply wouldn't work otherwise. Such as Charge Through.


The feat starts out saying "when charging". This to me would imply that the character would need to be able to execute a normal charge in order to alter how the charge occurs using this feat.
This line "Success allows you to move through the target’s space without provoking an attack of opportunity from that target, and when you arrive in the destination space and make your attack" combines both avoiding the attack of opportunity and making the attack. This would mean you are making one check to do both things, avoiding the need to avoid AoOs doesn't remove the need for the check as the attack is also contingent on that check. It does appear that you are making one check to move through their space regardless of their size.

So, as to the questions.
1: 1 check
2&3: the character couldn't charge the creature and wouldn't be capable of modifying that charge through this feat. If he were far enough away to charge, he would end his turn at "l" and make his charge attack as normal.
4: Yes. The attack made on the far side is contingent on the acrobatics check.
5: l

That's my reading anyway.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Sliding Dash All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.
Recent threads in Rules Questions
squid