Reiterated Alchemist Spell Clarification, Transmuter & Cross Knowledge Traits


Rules Questions


Could I get some directed clarification on how alchemist spell casting is handled in reference to the traits Transmuter and Cross-Knowledge?

I've read here that they don't have spell casting and that they apparently don't officially have a caster level, that it is instead referenced by their alchemist level. Does this essentially mean that the Transmuter feat wouldn't do anything for an alchemist? Is that because they don't cast spells, they imbibe them?

What about Cross-Knowledge? It mentions extracts, but also mentions caster level, as does Transmuter. The difference I see is that one mentions imbibing where the other doesn't.


Transmuter wrote:
Whenever you cast a spell from the transmutation school, its effects manifest at +1 caster level. Additionally, select one of the following transmutation spells: bear’s endurance, bull’s strength, cat’s grace, eagle’s splendor, fox’s cunning, or owl’s wisdom. Once per day when you cast that spell, its duration is doubled. A spell affected by this trait cannot be modified further by the Extend Spell metamagic feat or similar abilities.

Alchemists don't cast spells, so the trait does nothing for them.

Cross-Knowledge wrote:
Once per day, you may treat an extract you drink as if your caster level were 1 level higher as long as that extract appears on the wizard spell list and the alchemist list of formulae.
Alchemy (Su) wrote:
An extract is “cast” by drinking it, as if imbibing a potion—the effects of an extract exactly duplicate the spell upon which its formula is based, save that the spell always affects only the drinking alchemist. The alchemist uses his level as the caster level to determine any effect based on caster level.

When determining the effect of an extract--and only for that purpose--an alchemist is treated as having a caster level. Cross-Knowledge only applies when drinking an extract, and this falls under that limited purpose for which an alchemist "has" a caster level. This trait works.


Makes sense. Thanks blahpers

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder RPG / Rules Questions / Reiterated Alchemist Spell Clarification, Transmuter & Cross Knowledge Traits All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.