Bow proficiencies and composite bows


Skills, Feats, Equipment & Spells


Paizo Charter Superscriber; Pathfinder Deluxe Comics Subscriber; Pathfinder Legends Subscriber; Pathfinder Tales Subscriber; Starfinder Charter Superscriber

If you are trained with a bow, are you also trained with the composite version of that bow? I cannot find any rule text to either confirm or deny this.


It doesn't look like it.

Elf weapon familiarity lists them separately.


Yes. In the Ultimate Equipment book, page 25, "For the purposes of Weapon Proficiency and similar feats, a composite longbow is treated as if it were a longbow." It says the same thing for the composite shortbow.


Evangelion wrote:
Yes. In the Ultimate Equipment book, page 25, "For the purposes of Weapon Proficiency and similar feats, a composite longbow is treated as if it were a longbow." It says the same thing for the composite shortbow.

ultimate equipment?

we're in the pf2 forums


Hmm. Like shroudb said. Since they are separated in elf familiarity and no other location says they are the same, they are different weapons. So Bards and Rogues are only proficient with Shortbow and not composite Shortbow.


I just watched one of the recent streams where the question was asked “Do magic weapons automatically bypass certain damage resistances depending on their plus like they did in PF1e, because it doesn’t say either way in the rulebook for 2e”

And the answer was no, they do not. They said if there’s a rule from 1e that is not included in the playtest rulebook, it was excluded because that rule is not in 2e and it isn’t feasible to include a “This Isn’t a Rule Anymore” list. So it’s best to assume that if the book doesn’t come out and say it, then it isn’t the case anymore

So, yeah, applying that same situation to the bow/composite bow proficiency issue I’d say no, you don’t get proficiency with composite versions just by getting proficiency with the regular version. Unless: A) We missed something, and it does say it somewhere in the playtest rulebook OR B) They made a mistake and intended to include it

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder Playtest / Player Rules / Skills, Feats, Equipment & Spells / Bow proficiencies and composite bows All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.