Help understanding Harmonized Compositions?


General Discussion


Simple question; just something I felt confused over the wording of a little.

The text from the playtest;

Quote:

Trigger: You finish casting a composition

The triggering spell becomes a harmonized composition. A harmonized composition doesn’t end if you cast another composition, and you can cast another composition on the same turn as a harmonized composition. Casting another harmonized composition ends any harmonized composition you have in effect.

I had that to copy-paste cus I had to transcribe it to my character sheet and wrote "Harmonized composition" like, 6 times.

Anywho, so, I gather the point of it is that if you cast a composition, you can trigger this as a free action with 1 spell point to make it a harmonized one, and then cast another composition without ending the harmonized one?
It says you can cast another composition that turn, but then states the part about turning it into another harmonized composition, and then proceeds to explain that casting another harmonized ends the previous one.

So, am I right in understanding what it means is "you can cast another composition on the same turn if you like. You can also make it harmonized too but watch out because that'll end the one you just cast" ?
Also, assuming that if you do do that, it'll cost another spell point?

Cus I'm just very thrown off by the wording, it makes it very confusing and could stand to be more concise, clear and direct. (Which... I guess is what 'concise' means...)
The wording makes it sound like you can only cast another one on the same turn as another harmonized composition but then tells us it'll end the previous ones?

Anyone who could clarify what it all means will get a big virtual hug and my gratitude!

Grand Lodge

Consider harmonized compositions type B, and normal compositions type A.

You can only have one A going.
You can only have one B going.

You cast a composition (type A) but spend the spellpoint(Now it's Type B)
You cast a composition (type A). You do not spend a spell point.
You now have two compositions going, Type A and Type B.

If you had spent a spellpoint on that second one, uh oh, you can only have one Type B going at a time, the first stops.

If you hadn't spent a spellpoint ever, uh oh, you'd have two type As, can't have that, the first stops.


David Silver - Ponyfinder wrote:

Consider harmonized compositions type B, and normal compositions type A.

You can only have one A going.
You can only have one B going.

You cast a composition (type A) but spend the spellpoint(Now it's Type B)
You cast a composition (type A). You do not spend a spell point.
You now have two compositions going, Type A and Type B.

If you had spent a spellpoint on that second one, uh oh, you can only have one Type B going at a time, the first stops.

If you hadn't spent a spellpoint ever, uh oh, you'd have two type As, can't have that, the first stops.

Oh thank you so much! So that is how I thought it was then. It's just that the wording I think made some false implications to me but maybe it was just the way I read it somehow.

Thank you for the clarification!
*Hug!*

Community / Forums / Archive / Pathfinder / Playtests & Prerelease Discussions / Pathfinder Playtest / Pathfinder Playtest General Discussion / Help understanding Harmonized Compositions? All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.
Recent threads in Pathfinder Playtest General Discussion