Grabbing with Reach


Monsters and Hazards


5 people marked this as a favorite.

I have a question regarding the Grab ability involving legacy rules and possibly omitted details.

If a monster with Reach uses an attack to Grab you at a distance, what exactly happens? The answer in PF1 is obvious, grappling pulls the target adjacent to you. If you don't get pulled in, though, on your turn, are you able to attack the monster even though it's outside your reach normally?

This came up when we were running part 2 and only didn't come up in part 4 because of the reach of a shapeshifted T-Rex, but essentially our goblin barbarian is riding his camel through the river when he gets plucked up by the scorpion's claws. He can't reach the scorpion and he doesn't really want to wriggle free and deal with the river current. He was most frustrated that nothing to our knowledge stated he could attack the parts of the scorpion he could reach (since obviously if the scorpion was touching him, there was *something* in reach).

If I were GM of this part I'd probably have said that any monster currently grabbing you with part of its body is by definition within reach, but it could be clearer whether this is supposed to be the case, or whether there is an omitted legacy rule from PF1 Grab that drags opponents into range of you. Or, I suppose alternatively it is intentionally frustrating that you can be grabbed out of range of an opponent and have no way to fight back.


Sibelius Eos Owm wrote:

I have a question regarding the Grab ability involving legacy rules and possibly omitted details.

If a monster with Reach uses an attack to Grab you at a distance, what exactly happens? The answer in PF1 is obvious, grappling pulls the target adjacent to you. If you don't get pulled in, though, on your turn, are you able to attack the monster even though it's outside your reach normally?

This came up when we were running part 2 and only didn't come up in part 4 because of the reach of a shapeshifted T-Rex, but essentially our goblin barbarian is riding his camel through the river when he gets plucked up by the scorpion's claws. He can't reach the scorpion and he doesn't really want to wriggle free and deal with the river current. He was most frustrated that nothing to our knowledge stated he could attack the parts of the scorpion he could reach (since obviously if the scorpion was touching him, there was *something* in reach).

If I were GM of this part I'd probably have said that any monster currently grabbing you with part of its body is by definition within reach, but it could be clearer whether this is supposed to be the case, or whether there is an omitted legacy rule from PF1 Grab that drags opponents into range of you. Or, I suppose alternatively it is intentionally frustrating that you can be grabbed out of range of an opponent and have no way to fight back.

There was a strange feat that I recall from the 3.5-3.75 era days, that let you strike at a giant's hand as it swung at you, or a dragon's head as it sprung forward. It let you wait, and strike something with reach, that came in reach with you.

There was some controversy, as some felt the delay action already let you do this. I'm curious to see how it fills out in 2e.


1 person marked this as a favorite.

We've just had the same problem with a Sea Serpent. It has grab attacks with 30' and 20' range. In both cases the PCs argued that the serpent having a PC grabbed at 30' range with its tail implied that the tail was extended across the squares between the PC and Serpent, and thus those squares were part of the serpent's body and could be attacked.

Having the PC pulled into the range of the Serpent when it is grabbed seems much more practical than having to cope with that, but does have potential movement/terrain related problems.


Well, grab assumes that the part that grabbed can't be used for attack. So I can see the point in attacking the tail

Community / Forums / Archive / Pathfinder / Playtests & Prerelease Discussions / Pathfinder Playtest / Game Master Rules / Monsters and Hazards / Grabbing with Reach All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.
Recent threads in Monsters and Hazards