Arcanist Exploit Consume Magic item


Rules Questions

Silver Crusade

Would consume magic item or consume spell affect a magic rune on a chest?

I reread Consume spell this looks like it would work as the arcanist would make a dispel check againist the rune.

Am I right?


Lou Diamond wrote:

Would consume magic item or consume spell affect a magic rune on a chest?

I reread Consume spell this looks like it would work as the arcanist would make a dispel check againist the rune.

Am I right?

Absolutely not. The ability very clearly states "The arcanist can consume the power of potions, scrolls, staves, and wands, using them to fill her arcane reservoir." That rune is not one of the above mentioned items. Even if you have an item that works similar to one of the above (like an Elixer) it won't work because its not one of the 4 kinds of magic items the ability works on.


Consume spell would not work either because it has to be the Arcanist's unspent spell slot, not a spell from anyone else or one that has already been cast.


as above, No.

musing-
I can see the advantage of being a magical vacuum cleaner. You'll need GM approval and your GM would have to outline a process to do this. A dip into Cyphermage might be helpful. Transfer Rune spell. It's totally in the home game arena.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Arcanist Exploit Consume Magic item All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.