Wizard with School Savant dip. Two Schools?


Rules Questions


If a Wizard with an Arcane School takes a 1 level dip in School Savant Arcanist and chooses a different school then, do they now function as if they had two Arcane Schools?

Theres no text that says you have to choose a school you already have, like a lot of similar Bloodline abilities do.

It also says that you treat your Arcanist level as Wizard levels for the school, so would you keep progressing the second school once you went back to Wizard afterward?


Your wizard spells would be subject to the school you chose as a wizard. Your arcanist spells would be subject to the school you chose as an arcanist. You'd have the school abilities of both schools, each at the level of the class that granted them.

Quote:
It also says that you treat your Arcanist level as Wizard levels for the school, so would you keep progressing the second school once you went back to Wizard afterward?

Your second school would grant powers at an effective wizard level equal to your arcanist level. Your wizard school would grant powers at an effective wizard level equal to your wizard level.

Basically, a school choice is tied to the class that granted it. It might grant abilities that apply to spells from both classes (see intense spells (Su) from evocation), but the effective wizard level for such abilities would be the level of the class that granted the ability. For example, an evoker wizard 9/transmutation school savant 6 using intense spells to case a fireball would add 4 to the total damage (half of 9, rounded down) regardless of whether it was a wizard fireball or an arcanist fireball. They would not, however, have access to the change shape transmutation school ability yet.

(Edit: Better example.)


Well, dang.

Is there any way to get, or at least count as having, a second school? The Necromancer's Athame and Annihilation Spectacles are pretty amazing, but since they both seem to require specialization in certain schools it doesn't seem like you can ever use both. Which is fair, because of how good they are, but it would be real nice to be able to do it.


A school savant could choose wizard as a variant multiclass, if you don't mind losing half your feats in the process. Sadly, I don't know of any feats or archetypes or anything that would allow selecting two full-progression schools for one class.

Edit: Ack, I'm not sure that would help your case either, as you have to be a "transmuter" or "necromancer" to use those items, which is just shorthand for "wizard who chose transmutation/necromancy as their wizard arcane school" respectively. There's some room for alternate interpretation there, though.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Wizard with School Savant dip. Two Schools? All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.