Natural Ambition question


Ancestries & Backgrounds


Sorry to start a new thread on a topic that's already being discussed but I felt that my question was different enough that I didn't want to hijack the other thread with it.

Does the first level class feat granted by Natural Ambition count as a bonus feat? Or are there enough first level class feats that it can be recorded in the class feat box?


Pathfinder Companion, Modules, Roleplaying Game Subscriber; Starfinder Charter Superscriber
mathpro18 wrote:

Sorry to start a new thread on a topic that's already being discussed but I felt that my question was different enough that I didn't want to hijack the other thread with it.

Does the first level class feat granted by Natural Ambition count as a bonus feat? Or are there enough first level class feats that it can be recorded in the class feat box?

It depends on your class. The character sheet has a section called "Class Feats and Features" with 4 slots for 1st level feats or class features. With Natural Ambition, you are using up one more of those slots than you would otherwise use up.

Depending on which class features you want to write down, you might use up those slots even without Natural Ambition.


I'd put Natural Ambition[Class Feat X] on the Ancestry Feats section, and then put Class Feat X on the Bonus Feats section, for better book-keeping.


Pathfinder Adventure Path Subscriber

Here is another question for Natural Ambition: Can you select it more then once?

The example is: First taking Natural Ambition as your first level Ancestry feat. Then using the 3rd Level General feat to take the natural Ambition another time, via Ancestral Paragon, gaining another Class feat. It would still only add a 1st level class feat.


Shain Edge wrote:

Here is another question for Natural Ambition: Can you select it more then once?

The example is: First taking Natural Ambition as your first level Ancestry feat. Then using the 3rd Level General feat to take the natural Ambition another time, via Ancestral Paragon, gaining another Class feat. It would still only add a 1st level class feat.

It doesn't have the 'Special: you can take this feat multiple times..' line, so no.

For an example of a feat that does have the line:
GENERAL TRAINING, p36 wrote:

Your adaptability manifests in your mastery of a range of useful abilities. You gain a 1st-level general feat.

Special You can select this feat multiple times, choosing a different feat each time.


Pathfinder Adventure Path Subscriber
CommanderCoyler wrote:
Shain Edge wrote:

Here is another question for Natural Ambition: Can you select it more then once?

The example is: First taking Natural Ambition as your first level Ancestry feat. Then using the 3rd Level General feat to take the natural Ambition another time, via Ancestral Paragon, gaining another Class feat. It would still only add a 1st level class feat.

It doesn't have the 'Special: you can take this feat multiple times..' line, so no.

For an example of a feat that does have the line:
GENERAL TRAINING, p36 wrote:

Your adaptability manifests in your mastery of a range of useful abilities. You gain a 1st-level general feat.

Special You can select this feat multiple times, choosing a different feat each time.

On the other hand, there is no line that I have seen that specifically states you can not take a feat more then once. I know based on what you pointed out, it is inferred, but it doesn't seem to be ruled that way.


Vahnyu wrote:
I'd put Natural Ambition[Class Feat X] on the Ancestry Feats section, and then put Class Feat X on the Bonus Feats section, for better book-keeping.

I use my own digital sheet, but this approximates how I handle it as well.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder Playtest / Player Rules / Ancestries & Backgrounds / Natural Ambition question All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.