1d4-1 Damage


Running the Game


2 people marked this as a favorite.

The Quasits in Lost Star deal 1d4-1 damage on their claw attacks. What happens if I roll 1 for a total of 0 damage? Is there a minimum of 1 damage, or do they have a 25% chance at doing nothing?

Silver Crusade

Pathfinder Companion, Starfinder Adventure Path, Starfinder Roleplaying Game, Starfinder Society Subscriber; Pathfinder Roleplaying Game Superscriber

Since NonLethal doesn't exist anymore (I believe), I'd say they do no damage. You get an owwie probably, but no discernible damage.


Nonlethsl exists (fist deal it)


1 person marked this as a favorite.

There is no such thing as nonlethal damage, only a nonlethal attack. And even that only makes a difference if it reduces you to 0 HP (you don't get the dying condition).


1 person marked this as a favorite.

I assume 0 as I could not find any comments about weapons always doing at least 1 damage. At least not in the core rule book

Silver Crusade

What about damage LESS than 0 (eg, D4-2)? Logic would certainly imply that the minimum damage is 0 but that should probably be explicitly stated somewhere :-).


2 people marked this as a favorite.
pauljathome wrote:
What about damage LESS than 0 (eg, D4-2)? Logic would certainly imply that the minimum damage is 0 but that should probably be explicitly stated somewhere :-).

Actually you can slap someone back to life.. if someone is dying just hit them, sinsce it's unleathal damage they get the uncunsious state and returns to 1 hitpoint.. no need for heal spells ;) all acording to Rules as writen hehe


So the question gets dicier with something like the centipede, which deals 1d4-1 damage also, but if then injects venom. The question is, if you do 0 damage, does the venom set in?

If the interpretation of 0 is a wound, but not enough to deal a full hit point, then I'd argue the venom still takes hold.

I kind of like that, but I would like to get a ruling figured out for it officially.


3 people marked this as a favorite.
Grimcleaver wrote:

So the question gets dicier with something like the centipede, which deals 1d4-1 damage also, but if then injects venom. The question is, if you do 0 damage, does the venom set in?

If the interpretation of 0 is a wound, but not enough to deal a full hit point, then I'd argue the venom still takes hold.

I kind of like that, but I would like to get a ruling figured out for it officially.

This one is dealt with, actually.

playtest rulebook page 294 wrote:

Damage and Enhancements

Some abilities that deal damage have enhancements. These take effect only if you deal at least 1 damage. For instance, if you use a poisoned blade to attack a creature with slashing resistance and the creature takes no damage because of its resistance, it’s not exposed to your poison.


In PF1 I was told that the lowest damage you could do is 1.

I'd probably go with that. Few systems allow for no damage on a roll, it's usually no damage AFTER DR or defense is accounted for.

Grand Lodge

Paizo Superscriber; Pathfinder Companion, Pathfinder Accessories Subscriber

Lacking the guidance PF1 had for the situation, I am going to go with 0 damage, and if that wasn't their intent, they will errata the playtest or wait to change it in the final version (even if it was unintentional, testing the option is a thing).

Shadow Lodge

1 person marked this as a favorite.

Hope this gets clarified.

Community / Forums / Archive / Pathfinder / Playtests & Prerelease Discussions / Pathfinder Playtest / Game Master Rules / Running the Game / 1d4-1 Damage All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.
Recent threads in Running the Game