Is nonmagical Ammunition destroyed when used?


Running the Game

Scarab Sages

I can't find any ruling regarding what happens to non magical ammunition eg arrows, sling bullets etc after you fire them?

Are they destroyed on impact?

Can you retrieve the ammunition that missed the target?

A page reference would be nice if the rule exists.


There doesn't seem to be. I'd be inclined to be lenient since P1's insistence that all ammunition was destroyed when fired rubbed me wrong. But if there are going to be official rules on that, they look to be forthcoming.

Silver Crusade

Pathfinder Adventure Path, Campaign Setting, Companion, Modules, Roleplaying Game, Starfinder Adventure Path, Starfinder Roleplaying Game, Starfinder Society Roleplaying Guild, Tales Subscriber; Pathfinder Comics Subscriber

Looking over the Bestiary entries with creatures that damages equipment that hits them it specifically calls out that ammo and thrown objects are destroyed instead of Dented or damaged.

So ammo might be safe otherwise or just Dented?

Scarab Sages

Grimcleaver wrote:
There doesn't seem to be. I'd be inclined to be lenient since P1's insistence that all ammunition was destroyed when fired rubbed me wrong. But if there are going to be official rules on that, they look to be forthcoming.

Agreed. What concerns me is the 3 attacks per round with a bow may lead to archers carrying 120 arrows just to be sure...


Make 50 percent destroyed. Keeps some realism while reducing ammunition annoyance.


The playtest rulebook doesn't seem to say anything at all about ammunition being damaged by use. All the magic item section says is that "Regardless of whether a character’s attack with magic ammunition hits or misses, launching the ammunition consumes its magic."
So as written your nonmagical ammunition is fine (if you can find it), and your magical ammunition simply becomes nonmagical ammunition.


Grimcleaver wrote:
There doesn't seem to be. I'd be inclined to be lenient since P1's insistence that all ammunition was destroyed when fired rubbed me wrong. But if there are going to be official rules on that, they look to be forthcoming.

From the Pathfinder (1st edition, 6th printing) core rulebook pg 141, “Generally speaking, ammunition that hits its target is destroyed or rendered useless, while ammunition that misses has a 50% chance of being destroyed or lost.”

I think this a generally fair rule and will be using it for 2nd edition unless decided otherwise.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder Playtest / Game Master Rules / Running the Game / Is nonmagical Ammunition destroyed when used? All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.
Recent threads in Running the Game