A few questions after the second session


General Discussion


Pathfinder Lost Omens, Rulebook Subscriber

So my first group is on its second session, a second group to follow with a first session.

I found a few things that are confusing me a bit.

1.) Wolves
They are CR 1, have +1 strength and an attack of +7?
I would have expected them to have +3 or +4 being expert or master appropriately in biting but +7 really took me and my players by surprise. It does seem a bit high especially in combination with the +1d6 damage speciality of theirs (pack attack).....which means a high propability of a dying pc if 2 wolves attack one.....while another is near enough.

Is there anything I'm overlooking with the wolves and their +7 there? Or is there any special reason there that they have that high of a bonus?

2.) Attack of opportunities:
Am I seeing correct that ONLY fighters now can do them? (and those taking the appropriate fighter feats).


Pathfinder Lost Omens, Rulebook Subscriber

Also am we doing crits correctly?

Barbarian with a base damage of 2d8+4 (he is using a large weapon and has giant as a totem)
scored a critical hit and rolled 4d8+16

damage was: 8++5+5+16 = 42 !!!!!


Why does the barbarian have 2d8 base damage? I'm pretty sure a larger weapon just goes up a die. So if the base weapon was 1d8 it would go up to 1d10.

And why did his crit multiply his damage bonus by 4(4x4=16) instead of 2(2x4=8)?


To your first question, monsters use different overall build rules from PCs. But two level 1 wolves is supposed to be a fairly hard encounter (80 XP) for a group of four level 1 PCs. So if someone allows themselves to be surrounded when there's only 2 of them, PC death is certainly on the table. A third wolf (making it 120 XP) makes it a severe threat and PC death is on the table regardless if the rolls aren't in the players' favor.

PS: Both of my posts assume you're at level 1 since you're fighting wolves. Sorry if my assumption is off-base.


Hi this is the barbarian. There is no chart on the weapon size increase so we went off of the chart from Pathfinder 1e. So a greatsword's 2d6 turns into 2d8. In addition what he didn't mention was that the base damage is without rage, and that the crit was with rage. The rules for giant totem specify that your rage damage bonus doubles with the bigger weapon. So the +2 from rage becomes a +4. Thus my rage damage is 2d8+8. Double that for a crit is 4d8+16


Alyran wrote:

Why does the barbarian have 2d8 base damage? I'm pretty sure a larger weapon just goes up a die. So if the base weapon was 1d8 it would go up to 1d10.

And why did his crit multiply his damage bonus by 4(4x4=16) instead of 2(2x4=8)?

“For example, if you critically hit with a +1 longsword, you would roll 4d8 and add your modifier twice instead of rolling 2d8 and adding your modifier once.”- Page 283 of the core rulebook.


Hemata wrote:
Hi this is the barbarian. There is no chart on the weapon size increase so we went off of the chart from Pathfinder 1e. So a greatsword's 2d6 turns into 2d8. In addition what he didn't mention was that the base damage is without rage, and that the crit was with rage. The rules for giant totem specify that your rage damage bonus doubles with the bigger weapon. So the +2 from rage becomes a +4. Thus my rage damage is 2d8+8. Double that for a crit is 4d8+16

Ah, okay that totally explains the Critical calculation. Thank you.

The problem is your base damage. I don't remember the page number so you'll have to forgive me on this next part. A greatsword is now 1d12 instead of 2d6 in the playtest (page 180 of the playtest Rulebook). Also, the scaling for size goes:

1d6->1d8->1d10->1d12->+2 per size increase.

So your base weapon damage instead of 2d8 would be 1d12+2. If you give me some time I'll find the page reference, but I wanted to reply.

Edit: I made a mistake here and misunderstood information that was otherwise given to me. That damage scaling applies when something tells you to increase a damage die (page 91, fighter sidebar). The Giant Totem doesn't actually say that it increases damage die and nothing in the book suggests that a larger weapon actually increases damage at all. The closest thing is the Enlarge spell which gives a +2 bonus to damage but that includes actually changing character size. I assume there's a bonus for wielding a larger weapon, but they didn't include it in the book. Just another thing that they hopefully fix in their first revision of the playtest. Wizards and sorcerers should have training in Unarmored Defense, but the book never mentions that either.

Edit2: I tried referencing creatures in the Bestiary, but there doesn't seem to be any sort of consistency to the way their damage dice work either.


Pathfinder Lost Omens, Rulebook Subscriber

on an additional note AOO is that now only figher or genreally useable?

good point about the enlarge (although in pf1 enlargedworked differently than using a large weapon sadly thus could be the same here)


KageNoRyu wrote:

on an additional note AOO is that now only figher or genreally useable?

good point about the enlarge (although in pf1 enlargedworked differently than using a large weapon sadly thus could be the same here)

Yes, AoO is fighter only now. As is power attack. But with how differently the game works, I wouldn't take that as a problem immediately. They're likely less "literally everyone has to have this to function" now.


This should probably be in one of the the Playtest Feedback threads.

My attempt at the maths: the damage of a level 1 18 STR giant totem barbarian with a great sword:

Damage = 1d12 + 4 (ability)

Add rage: +2 conditional bonus

So thats 1d12+6

Giant totem - Titan Mauler: double your conditional bonus from rage. So the +2 rage bonus becomes +4. .

So that's 1d14 + 4 (ability) + 4 (condition)

Total damage = 1d12+8

Then if you crit, double it all to: 2d12+16.

Crits are big in PF2!


Pathfinder Lost Omens, Rulebook Subscriber

btw a spell wth 1 minute / concentration duration: does that mean after 1 minute I need to concentrate to uphold it still or does it end after 1 minute regardless?


KageNoRyu wrote:
btw a spell wth 1 minute / concentration duration: does that mean after 1 minute I need to concentrate to uphold it still or does it end after 1 minute regardless?

You spend 1 action each round after casting to maintain the spell (concentrate) for up to 1 minute.

Community / Forums / Archive / Pathfinder / Playtests & Prerelease Discussions / Pathfinder Playtest / Pathfinder Playtest General Discussion / A few questions after the second session All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.
Recent threads in Pathfinder Playtest General Discussion