Errata questions


General Discussion

101 to 150 of 421 << first < prev | 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | next > last >>

2 people marked this as a favorite.

Orcs' Ferocity in the bestiary is not listed as 1/day. Is this correct?

Humans get "One additional language, selected from
those to which you have access" but does not explain which ones they can access.


1 person marked this as a favorite.
shroudb wrote:
Meophist wrote:
When, let's say the Fighter, says that they're "Trained in a number of skills equal to 3 plus your Intelligence modifier", is this only when they go into level 1, or does this count throughout the Fighter's life? Like, if their Intelligence modifier goes up by 1, do they get an extra skill trained? Likewise, if their Intelligence modifier goes down by 1, do they lose a skill trained?

ability changes are retroactive.

so yes, they gain a "trained" skill when they increase Int (but not upgrade an already tained to expert or higher)

That is my thought as well, and it's a rule in PF1, but I haven't been able to find it stated in the playtest rules. Where is it?


Fuzzy-Wuzzy wrote:
shroudb wrote:
Meophist wrote:
When, let's say the Fighter, says that they're "Trained in a number of skills equal to 3 plus your Intelligence modifier", is this only when they go into level 1, or does this count throughout the Fighter's life? Like, if their Intelligence modifier goes up by 1, do they get an extra skill trained? Likewise, if their Intelligence modifier goes down by 1, do they lose a skill trained?

ability changes are retroactive.

so yes, they gain a "trained" skill when they increase Int (but not upgrade an already tained to expert or higher)

That is my thought as well, and it's a rule in PF1, but I haven't been able to find it stated in the playtest rules. Where is it?

on my cellphone atm so i can't "search" the pdf. But one place i remember it stated it was (edit:) in the Potent section of magic items


shroudb wrote:
Fuzzy-Wuzzy wrote:
shroudb wrote:
Meophist wrote:
When, let's say the Fighter, says that they're "Trained in a number of skills equal to 3 plus your Intelligence modifier", is this only when they go into level 1, or does this count throughout the Fighter's life? Like, if their Intelligence modifier goes up by 1, do they get an extra skill trained? Likewise, if their Intelligence modifier goes down by 1, do they lose a skill trained?

ability changes are retroactive.

so yes, they gain a "trained" skill when they increase Int (but not upgrade an already tained to expert or higher)

That is my thought as well, and it's a rule in PF1, but I haven't been able to find it stated in the playtest rules. Where is it?
on my cellphone atm so i can't "search" the pdf. But one place i remember it stated it was (edit:) in the Potent section of magic items
I found the relevant text:
Quote:

When you invest an item that has the potent trait, it improves one of your ability scores, either increasing it by 2 or increasing it to a total of 18, whichever grants the higher score. This gives you the benefits of the new ability score: increasing Intelligence lets you become trained in an additional skill, increasing Charisma adds to your Resonance Points, increasing Constitution gives you more Hit Points, and so on. These benefits go away once the investiture runs out.

A potent item grants this benefit only the first time it’s invested within a 24-hour period, and you can benefit from only one potent item at a time. If you attempt to invest a potent item when you already have one invested, you don’t gain the ability score increase, though you do gain any other effects of investing the item.

This only applies to increases from the potent trait, it doesn't describe what happens with normal ability score increases.

That said, if you level up while under the effects of potent and increase the effect of a skill you've increased using potent to expert, what happens when the effect runs out?


shroudb wrote:
Fuzzy-Wuzzy wrote:
shroudb wrote:
Meophist wrote:
When, let's say the Fighter, says that they're "Trained in a number of skills equal to 3 plus your Intelligence modifier", is this only when they go into level 1, or does this count throughout the Fighter's life? Like, if their Intelligence modifier goes up by 1, do they get an extra skill trained? Likewise, if their Intelligence modifier goes down by 1, do they lose a skill trained?

ability changes are retroactive.

so yes, they gain a "trained" skill when they increase Int (but not upgrade an already tained to expert or higher)

That is my thought as well, and it's a rule in PF1, but I haven't been able to find it stated in the playtest rules. Where is it?
on my cellphone atm so i can't "search" the pdf. But one place i remember it stated it was (edit:) in the Potent section of magic items

Ah, found it. Thanks. That doesn't quite say that the same holds true for level-up ability boosts, but the intent is clear. Still, it should be stated explicitly somewhere, preferably early.


Dilvias wrote:

Humans get "One additional language, selected from

those to which you have access" but does not explain which ones they can access.

The Ethnicities (except Taldan) provide "access" to given languages, otherwise it can be infered (but isn't ever stated outright) that a character also has access to their regional language (thankfully for the poor Taldans).

RPG Superstar 2015 Top 32

p.85, bear animal companion description

"Work Together Benefit Your bear mauls your enemies when
you create an opening. Until your next turn, all your weapon
Strikes against a creature your bear threatens deal 1d8
additional slashing damage. If your bear has a specialization,
the additional slashing damage increases to 2d8."

Sounds like it is the bear creates an openiong, not you, and you are the one who benefits from it.

Sovereign Court

Pathfinder Adventure Path, Card Game, Companion, Lost Omens, Pathfinder Accessories, Rulebook, Starfinder Adventure Path, Starfinder Maps, Starfinder Roleplaying Game, Starfinder Society Subscriber

No...

If you hit, the bear gets a free claw attack (or two). That's why it is specifically slashing damage.


1 person marked this as a favorite.

Question #1

Can the bonus class feat from Natural Ambition be used to purchase a multiclass feat in place of a class feat provided the player meets the prerequisites?

Playtest Rulebook, p. 37 wrote:

NATURAL AMBITION

You were raised to be ambitious and always reach for the stars, causing you to progress quickly in your chosen field. You gain a 1st-level class feat for your class.
Playtest Rulebook, p. 279 wrote:
Applying an archetype requires you to spend your class feats on archetype feats instead of class feats. Start by finding the archetype that best fits your character concept, and select the archetype’s dedication feat using one of your class feat choices. Once you have the dedication feat, you can select any feat from that archetype in place of a class feat as long as you meet its prerequisites.

Example: Gish the Human Wizard decides to multiclass into Fighter. They take Fighter Dedication as their 2nd level class feat, Basic Maneuver as their 4th level class feat, and select Natural Ambition as their 5th level Ancestry Feat, gaining a 1st level class feat. Can Gish use this class feat to purchase the archetype feat Fighter Resiliency?

Question #2

Table 5-1 on p. 160 lists Non-Skill Feats.

Several of these feats carry the Skill trait in their individual description.

Can the following Feats be selected using a Skill feat?

Diehard
Feather Step
Fleet

Question #3

Playtest Rulebook, p. 280 wrote:
You cast spells like a cleric. ...Choose a deity as you would if you were a cleric. You’re bound by that deity’s anathema.
Playtest Rulebook, p. 70 wrote:
Your deity also adds spells to your spell list. When preparing spells, you can select from these in addition to the spells on the divine list once you can cast that level of spell.

Does a character with the Cleric Dedication and Basic Cleric Spellcasting archetype feats add their deity's 1st level Domain spell to their spell list?


JDLPF wrote:

Question #1

Can the bonus class feat from Natural Ambition be used to purchase a multiclass feat in place of a class feat provided the player meets the prerequisites?

Playtest Rulebook, p. 37 wrote:

NATURAL AMBITION

You were raised to be ambitious and always reach for the stars, causing you to progress quickly in your chosen field. You gain a 1st-level class feat for your class.
Playtest Rulebook, p. 279 wrote:
Applying an archetype requires you to spend your class feats on archetype feats instead of class feats. Start by finding the archetype that best fits your character concept, and select the archetype’s dedication feat using one of your class feat choices. Once you have the dedication feat, you can select any feat from that archetype in place of a class feat as long as you meet its prerequisites.
Example: Gish the Human Wizard decides to multiclass into Fighter. They take Fighter Dedication as their 2nd level class feat, Basic Maneuver as their 4th level class feat, and select Natural Ambition as their 5th level Ancestry Feat, gaining a 1st level class feat. Can Gish use this class feat to purchase the archetype feat Fighter Resiliency?

This is an easy one. Fighter Resiliency is a level 4 feat, and therefore invalid.


Cyouni wrote:
This is an easy one. Fighter Resiliency is a level 4 feat, and therefore invalid.

Read the rules for selecting archetype feats closely. I bolded the important bit.

Playtest Rulebook, p. 279 wrote:
Applying an archetype requires you to spend your class feats on archetype feats instead of class feats. Start by finding the archetype that best fits your character concept, and select the archetype’s dedication feat using one of your class feat choices. Once you have the dedication feat, you can select any feat from that archetype in place of a class feat as long as you meet its prerequisites.

Natural Ambition grants a 1st level class feat. You can select any feat from your archetype in place of a class feat so long as you meet the archetype feat's prerequisites. Ergo, you can select an archetype feat in place of a 1st level class feat unless you know of a rule that says this is an exception to the rules for archetypes?

Lantern Lodge

Playtest rulebook page 293: "Negative damage harms the life force of living creatures, and positive damage hurts undead".
I presume this is supposed to be "Negative _energy_ damage harms the life force of living creatures, and positive _energy_ damage hurts undead".


JDLPF wrote:
Cyouni wrote:
This is an easy one. Fighter Resiliency is a level 4 feat, and therefore invalid.

Read the rules for selecting archetype feats closely. I bolded the important bit.

Playtest Rulebook, p. 279 wrote:
Applying an archetype requires you to spend your class feats on archetype feats instead of class feats. Start by finding the archetype that best fits your character concept, and select the archetype’s dedication feat using one of your class feat choices. Once you have the dedication feat, you can select any feat from that archetype in place of a class feat as long as you meet its prerequisites.
Natural Ambition grants a 1st level class feat. You can select any feat from your archetype in place of a class feat so long as you meet the archetype feat's prerequisites. Ergo, you can select an archetype feat in place of a 1st level class feat unless you know of a rule that says this is an exception to the rules for archetypes?

All multiclass feats require Dedication.

Dedication requires level 2

By extension I would say that you can't use a level 1 feat to pick up a feat that requires an 2+ feat with it.


You gain an Ancestry Feat at 5th level, which can be used to select Natural Ambition, gaining a 1st level Class Feat, and you already possess your Dedication feat if you've selected it at 2nd or 4th level. Per the wording of the rules on p. 279, any Class Feat can be used to select an Archetype Feat, and at 5th level you meet the prerequisites.

Looks legal to me. That's why I'm flagging it for an errata answer.


shade2077 wrote:

Playtest rulebook page 293: "Negative damage harms the life force of living creatures, and positive damage hurts undead".

I presume this is supposed to be "Negative _energy_ damage harms the life force of living creatures, and positive _energy_ damage hurts undead".

They're very consistent about using "negative damage" and "positive damage" throughout the book, actually. The odd man out seems to be the Positive trait defined on page 418 saying "deal positive energy damage," which I take to be an error.

(I'm not convinced it's a good idea to omit "energy" from those phrases, but it's definitely intentional.)

Silver Crusade

Pathfinder Companion, Starfinder Adventure Path, Starfinder Roleplaying Game, Starfinder Society Subscriber; Pathfinder Roleplaying Game Superscriber
shroudb wrote:
Quote:

Frightened

You’re gripped by fear and struggle to control your
nerves. The frightened condition always includes
a value. You take a conditional penalty equal to this
value to your checks and saving throws.
Unless specified
otherwise, at the end of each of your turns, the value of
your frightened condition decreases by 1.]
Quote:

Sluggish

Your movements become clumsy and inexact. Sluggish
always includes a value. When you are sluggish, you take
a conditional penalty to AC, attack rolls, Dexterity-based
checks, and Reflex saves
equal to the condition’s value.
Quote:

Drained

When a creature successfully drains you of blood or
some other life force, you become less healthy. Drained
always includes a value. You take a conditional penalty
equal to the value on Fortitude saves and Constitutionbased
checks.

etc, basically all conditions

emm... Saving throws (and attack rolls for that matter, but i let that slide since those can be keyed off 2 abilities instead of 1) ARE checks already.

Quote:

CHECKS

The GM will call upon you to attempt a check whenever
you need to resolve a conflict or test your aptitude at a
particular task or challenge. Examples include any attempt
to attack another creature in combat, using skills, and
resisting the effects of a dangerous spell that has been cast
upon you.
Checks are attempted against the difficulty class
(DC) of the task or challenge to determine success or failure.

Most likely future proofing for if there’s options that let charcaters switch a Stat for a check or something (like how Alchemists use INT for Resonance instead of CHA).

Silver Crusade

Pathfinder Companion, Starfinder Adventure Path, Starfinder Roleplaying Game, Starfinder Society Subscriber; Pathfinder Roleplaying Game Superscriber
JDLPF wrote:

You gain an Ancestry Feat at 5th level, which can be used to select Natural Ambition, gaining a 1st level Class Feat, and you already possess your Dedication feat if you've selected it at 2nd or 4th level. Per the wording of the rules on p. 279, any Class Feat can be used to select an Archetype Feat, and at 5th level you meet the prerequisites.

Looks legal to me. That's why I'm flagging it for an errata answer.

I’d say no. You gain a 1st level Class Feat, not a floating Class Feat slot.


1 person marked this as a favorite.
Rysky wrote:
JDLPF wrote:

You gain an Ancestry Feat at 5th level, which can be used to select Natural Ambition, gaining a 1st level Class Feat, and you already possess your Dedication feat if you've selected it at 2nd or 4th level. Per the wording of the rules on p. 279, any Class Feat can be used to select an Archetype Feat, and at 5th level you meet the prerequisites.

Looks legal to me. That's why I'm flagging it for an errata answer.

I’d say no. You gain a 1st level Class Feat, not a floating Class Feat slot.

That's not what he's saying, and by Raw he is correct.

Nothing forbids you to pick up a multiclass feat with a level 1 class feat IF you meet the other requirements.

And by picking the ancestry feat later on, you can do that.

Silver Crusade

1 person marked this as a favorite.
Pathfinder Companion, Pathfinder Accessories Subscriber; Pathfinder Roleplaying Game Charter Superscriber
shroudb wrote:
Rysky wrote:
JDLPF wrote:

You gain an Ancestry Feat at 5th level, which can be used to select Natural Ambition, gaining a 1st level Class Feat, and you already possess your Dedication feat if you've selected it at 2nd or 4th level. Per the wording of the rules on p. 279, any Class Feat can be used to select an Archetype Feat, and at 5th level you meet the prerequisites.

Looks legal to me. That's why I'm flagging it for an errata answer.

I’d say no. You gain a 1st level Class Feat, not a floating Class Feat slot.

That's not what he's saying, and by Raw he is correct.

Nothing forbids you to pick up a multiclass feat with a level 1 class feat IF you meet the other requirements.

And by picking the ancestry feat later on, you can do that.

(Not to put words in Rysky's mouth, but:) what Rysky is saying is that Natural Ambition specifies that you gain a 1st level class feat.

The Dedication feat changes what allows fighter archetype feats to count as class feats, but a 4th level class feat ain't a 1st level class feat.

[edit: wording]


1 person marked this as a favorite.
Franz Lunzer wrote:
shroudb wrote:
Rysky wrote:
JDLPF wrote:

You gain an Ancestry Feat at 5th level, which can be used to select Natural Ambition, gaining a 1st level Class Feat, and you already possess your Dedication feat if you've selected it at 2nd or 4th level. Per the wording of the rules on p. 279, any Class Feat can be used to select an Archetype Feat, and at 5th level you meet the prerequisites.

Looks legal to me. That's why I'm flagging it for an errata answer.

I’d say no. You gain a 1st level Class Feat, not a floating Class Feat slot.

That's not what he's saying, and by Raw he is correct.

Nothing forbids you to pick up a multiclass feat with a level 1 class feat IF you meet the other requirements.

And by picking the ancestry feat later on, you can do that.

(Not to put words in Rysky's mouth, but:) what Rysky is saying is that Natural Ambition specifies that you gain a 1st level class feat.

The Dedication feat changes what allows fighter archetype feats to count as class feats, but a 4th level class feat ain't a 1st level class feat.

[edit: wording]

But dedication doesn't give you "access to other class feats" it just opens ups specific multiclass feats with written requirements that you pick up with your class feats. It's like picking a skill feat with a general feat, only instead you pick up archetype feats with class feats.

(p. S. I'm not agreeing with it, this will make everyone a human or adopted human, I'm just pointing out that RAW seems to allow it)

Silver Crusade

Pathfinder Companion, Pathfinder Accessories Subscriber; Pathfinder Roleplaying Game Charter Superscriber

Rewording this again.

You are in the middle of leveling up to 5th level of your Wizard with the Fighter dedication feat.
For your 5th level Ancestry feat you select Natural Ambition (which gets you a 1st level class feat).

Which feats do you consider 1st level class feats?
How would Fighter Resiliency (a 4th level fighter archetype feat) get to be a 1st level class feat?

Would you allow someone to select Natural Ambition (Conceal Spell) at 5th level?


A minor clarification would be useful on the interaction between the Sorcerer Dangerous Sorcery (feat 1) and Magic Missile.

From a few threads, there's confusion about whether the bonus feat damage is applied once for the multiple-action-cast version, per target, or just once for the whole round, which probably as intended? But if so, how that damage can / should be applied across the multiple missiles. This starts to matter a lot with the heightened versions of the spell.

Keep up the good work! Very curious to see the Errata to find out how shield damage is properly calculated :)


1 person marked this as a favorite.

Rogue dedication (p.282) talks about "the rogue's surprise attack class talent" while everything in the class section is referred to as feats or features. Calling the features you can not choose "talents" would also help in clarifying what you can and can not choose when you pick the "advanced [blank]" multiclassing-feats.

Silver Crusade

Pathfinder Companion, Starfinder Adventure Path, Starfinder Roleplaying Game, Starfinder Society Subscriber; Pathfinder Roleplaying Game Superscriber
Franz Lunzer wrote:
shroudb wrote:
Rysky wrote:
JDLPF wrote:

You gain an Ancestry Feat at 5th level, which can be used to select Natural Ambition, gaining a 1st level Class Feat, and you already possess your Dedication feat if you've selected it at 2nd or 4th level. Per the wording of the rules on p. 279, any Class Feat can be used to select an Archetype Feat, and at 5th level you meet the prerequisites.

Looks legal to me. That's why I'm flagging it for an errata answer.

I’d say no. You gain a 1st level Class Feat, not a floating Class Feat slot.

That's not what he's saying, and by Raw he is correct.

Nothing forbids you to pick up a multiclass feat with a level 1 class feat IF you meet the other requirements.

And by picking the ancestry feat later on, you can do that.

(Not to put words in Rysky's mouth, but:) what Rysky is saying is that Natural Ambition specifies that you gain a 1st level class feat.

The Dedication feat changes what allows fighter archetype feats to count as class feats, but a 4th level class feat ain't a 1st level class feat.

[edit: wording]

Yep, thank you.

The Feat gives you a specific thing. It doesn’t give you a normal Feat slot that you can use on anything. You have to pick a 1st Level Class Feat with it.


Dispel Magic is missing the heighten superscript on the spell lists as well as any text in the spell description, but the section on counteracting effects implies it can be heightened in order to succeed against higher level spells.

Paizo Employee Designer

4 people marked this as a favorite.
Xenocrat wrote:
Dispel Magic is missing the heighten superscript on the spell lists as well as any text in the spell description, but the section on counteracting effects implies it can be heightened in order to succeed against higher level spells.

Thanks to everyone for compiling these! As Stephen says, we've got most of these in our errata document, but we flat out ran out of time before GenCon, with a team chat we made together at home while packing listing the most important errata in case we got a chance to put those up for day 1 (we didn't).

As to this one: The heightened entry and "H" means the spell does something different when you heighten it. You can still heighten any spell you want purely to increase its spell level, generally to help counteract (or make it harder to counteract). Dispel is in that boat.


Pathfinder Battles Case Subscriber; Pathfinder Companion, Maps, Starfinder Adventure Path, Starfinder Maps, Starfinder Roleplaying Game, Starfinder Society Subscriber; Pathfinder Roleplaying Game Superscriber
Cantriped wrote:
Dilvias wrote:

Humans get "One additional language, selected from

those to which you have access" but does not explain which ones they can access.
The Ethnicities (except Taldan) provide "access" to given languages, otherwise it can be infered (but isn't ever stated outright) that a character also has access to their regional language (thankfully for the poor Taldans).

So do Taldans get to choose a common language, or are they a language short in PF2?

And do the half-elf and half-orc feats potentially give a "human" character access to a third language, or just the ability to replace that human ethnic language with the language of their non-human parent?


Arakhor wrote:
Arakhor wrote:
Angelic Form on p111 grants you both darkvision and low-light vision. Why is this?

Acute Vision on p57 does this too. I still don't see why you would ever need both.

Arakhor wrote:
Swift Tracker on p116 requires Experienced Tracker. I don't know what that is or where it's mentioned.
I realised afterwards that this one is a skill feat (p165).

Low-light vision does't usually have a range associated with it. In the evening, a creature with Darkvision can see e.g. 60 feet clearly, but everything else is concealed due to the twilight conditions. A creature with Low-light vision can see as far as they normally could without issue.

EDIT: Nope, crossing my editions. There's no benefit whatsoever.


David knott 242 wrote:
Cantriped wrote:
Dilvias wrote:

Humans get "One additional language, selected from

those to which you have access" but does not explain which ones they can access.
The Ethnicities (except Taldan) provide "access" to given languages, otherwise it can be infered (but isn't ever stated outright) that a character also has access to their regional language (thankfully for the poor Taldans).

So do Taldans get to choose a common language, or are they a language short in PF2?

And do the half-elf and half-orc feats potentially give a "human" character access to a third language, or just the ability to replace that human ethnic language with the language of their non-human parent?

A Taldan/Chelish character has the same potential number of languages, they just have Access to one fewer languages to choose from. By default this appears to limit them to their regional language.

Half-Elves/Orcs don't explicitly gain Access to their racial language unless they select it as one of the feat's benefits (which grants the language outright, giving you a third language).

Beyond that a player could argue for access to anything using backstory. The playtest rulebook even indicates that a bonus skill feat (specifically Sign Language) is an acceptable reward for a good backstory... though the section could also have been implying the GM would/should allow a customized Background.


Regarding Doomsday Dawn - The Lost Star

Spoiler:
The spoils include a wand of produce flame (DD 16). However, the playtest rulebook indicates wands only contain 1st through 4th level spells (PR 380), and produce flame is a Cantrip (PR 247).
Should I run it as is, and how much is a 0th level wand worth? Or should I replace the wand with one containing a 1st level fire spell?


The Lich and Treachery Demon in the Bestiary calculate their Steady Spellcasting value as (2 x level)+1, while the Vampire Wizard and Demonologist calculate this value as (2 x level), in line with the PC class feats.


1 person marked this as a favorite.
Franz Lunzer wrote:

Rewording this again.

You are in the middle of leveling up to 5th level of your Wizard with the Fighter dedication feat.
For your 5th level Ancestry feat you select Natural Ambition (which gets you a 1st level class feat).

Which feats do you consider 1st level class feats?
How would Fighter Resiliency (a 4th level fighter archetype feat) get to be a 1st level class feat?

Would you allow someone to select Natural Ambition (Conceal Spell) at 5th level?

You could've highlighted the "class" part too, since archetype feats aren't class feats.

Except there's a special rule that lets you replace a class feat choice with an archetype feat, and there's no rule saying that the restrictions on the class feat also apply to the archetype feat since they're different types of feats.


sherlock1701 wrote:
Arakhor wrote:

Angelic Form on p111 grants you both darkvision and low-light vision. Why is this?

Acute Vision on p57 does this too. I still don't see why you would ever need both.

Low-light vision does't usually have a range associated with it. In the evening, a creature with Darkvision can see e.g. 60 feet clearly, but everything else is concealed due to the twilight conditions. A creature with Low-light vision can see as far as they normally could without issue.

EDIT: Nope, crossing my editions. There's no benefit whatsoever.

Indeed. That was my conclusion too.


Detecting magic items in loot seems prohibitively time consuming until you are 7th or perhaps 5th level. Detect magic can't pinpoint an aura at all until you're 7th level (heightened to 4th spell level), and then only in a 5' square, not an individual item.

Read Aura takes 10 minutes and only identifies one item as magical per casting until you reach 5th level (3rd spell level), when it can do ten. Prior to that I just don't see parties grabbing every potential magical item and spending 10 minutes per (followed by 1 hour to identify if you don't have the right feat) to find out if they are magical.


1 person marked this as a favorite.

We had fun with our party with that detect magic issue.

Basically the party found a chest. There was magic in the 5ft cube where the chest was.

The chest contained:

4 pouches of coppers, silvers and gold. 3 pouches containing in total 17 previous and semiprecious stones, 1 expert dagger, 2 jeweled daggers, 1 jeweled bastard sword, an expert bow, 1 golden goblet, a set of silk female robes, few pieces of jewellery.

It took them about 4h to finally find and identify the brooch of shielding and the ioun stone.

Thank God they had quick identification, or else it would have been close to 6h.

Something needs to be done with it, but I don't know how to fix it without breaking Detect magic like it was before.

Maybe read magic can have a 1min casting instead of 10 but require touch?

Paizo Employee Designer

3 people marked this as a favorite.
Dekalinder wrote:
Power attack already scales badly, bus as worded right now, it doesn't even scales at 10 if you pick it up with the Fighter Dedication Archetype.

Going through and collecting errata, and just got to this post! The dice should scale up, because the archetype's limit to your fighter level applies only to prerequisites and Power Attack should care about only your level, not your "fighter level."


Speaking of Errata, why do Rangers get their Nimble/Savage companion upgrade at level 12 instead of level 10 like the Paladin/Cavalier?

Furthermore, the Ranger's Animal Companion never gets to take 1 action a turn when not Commanded. The other Companion classes/archetype like Druid and Paladin/Cavalier all get this option (Druid at 4, Paladin/Cavalier at 10).

I am sure this is an oversight and deserves an errata.


"Drain Arcane Focus" triggers on "your turn begins", and says it gives you the ability to cast a spell you've already cast. To me, this implies that the spell *has* to be one you cast with the first action on your turn, and it's unusable for reactive spells (Feather Fall). Was this the intention?

Sczarni RPG Superstar 2014 Top 16

tivadar27 wrote:
"Drain Arcane Focus" triggers on "your turn begins", and says it gives you the ability to cast a spell you've already cast. To me, this implies that the spell *has* to be one you cast with the first action on your turn, and it's unusable for reactive spells (Feather Fall). Was this the intention?

Technically, it doesn't say that you have to cast the spell this turn, only that you have "the ability to cast one spell you prepared today and previously cast, without spending a spell slot."

If that were the case, you could just take the "Drain Arcane Focus" action the round after you cast your first spell for the day, and you could then cast whatever spell you wanted whenever you have the appropriate action for it, as long as it was one you'd already cast.

I somehow doubt that was the intention, though.


2 people marked this as a favorite.

Padded armour has the fragile quality, meaning it takes less dents to make it broken.p177
Definition of dents is on p175, and states that the amount of damage an item can take is based on its material.
Hit points for material is on p354 (and lets just ignore the bit about armour being made from thicker metal than skields here).

Where do I find out what material padded, splint and scale armour are made of? As an experiened gamer I'n fairly happy to go with cloth, metal and metal respectively, but it's not defined.


Playtest Rulebook page 98 wrote:

Incredible Movement 3rd

You gain a +10-foot conditional bonus to your Speed whenever you’re not wearing armor. The bonus increases by 5 feet for every 3 monk levels you have beyond 3rd.

I'm pretty sure "monk levels" should just be "levels" as there is no such thing as "class level" in the rulebook.

Dark Archive

1 person marked this as a favorite.
Pathfinder Starfinder Society Subscriber
RunnerAndJumper wrote:

Page 89:

The fighter-feat "combat grab" gives the same effect for the enhancement and the failure. Not sure, if this is intended.

If you read it closely there is a slight difference between success and failure. Success ends at the end of your next turn. Failure ends at the beginning of your next turn.

In short, do you get to keep the bonus going for your next turn's attacks or not.

Paizo Employee Designer

3 people marked this as a favorite.
Cantriped wrote:

Regarding Doomsday Dawn - The Lost Star

** spoiler omitted **

I don't know whether we'll errata this, but for now I'd say use burning hands instead.


Tamago wrote:
tivadar27 wrote:
"Drain Arcane Focus" triggers on "your turn begins", and says it gives you the ability to cast a spell you've already cast. To me, this implies that the spell *has* to be one you cast with the first action on your turn, and it's unusable for reactive spells (Feather Fall). Was this the intention?

Technically, it doesn't say that you have to cast the spell this turn, only that you have "the ability to cast one spell you prepared today and previously cast, without spending a spell slot."

If that were the case, you could just take the "Drain Arcane Focus" action the round after you cast your first spell for the day, and you could then cast whatever spell you wanted whenever you have the appropriate action for it, as long as it was one you'd already cast.

I somehow doubt that was the intention, though.

I'm pretty sure that the line "you must still expend the required actions..." implies that you need to do it when the ability is triggered. Either way, clarification around the wording here would help. I'd agree, both readings are possible.

That also doesn't solve the whole "oh shoot, we're falling, I need to cast feather fall again! Good thing I have my arcane bond!" problem.


1 person marked this as a favorite.
playtest rulebook page 54 wrote:

Raging Resistance 9th

You gain resistance equal to your Constitution modifier (minimum 0) to two damage types based on your totem.
page 56, Fury Totem wrote:

Raging Resistance

The resistance from your raging resistance class feature applies against all physical weapon damage.

If "physical" is a damage type, this is only one; if not, then it's three (B/P/S). Either way, the initial definition of Raging Resistance should say something like "certain" instead of "two."

Petty, I know, but it bothered me.


2 people marked this as a favorite.
Playtest Rulebook page 99, Ki strike wrote:
When you use Ki Strike, choose whether your ki powers are divine spells or occult spells.

I'm pretty sure that should happen when you get the feat, not when you use it.


2 people marked this as a favorite.

So.. is it, or is it not?

Quote:


UNARMED ATTACKS
You can Strike with your fist or another body part,
calculating your attack and damage rolls in the same way
you would with a weapon. This counts as a simple weapon,
so almost all characters start out trained in unarmed
attacks.
Use the statistics for a fist even if you’re kicking,
kneeing, or attacking with another part of your body.
Some ancestry feats, class features, class feats, and spells
give access to special, more powerful unarmed attacks.
Quote:

Unarmed

An unarmed attack uses your body rather than a
manufactured weapon. An unarmed attack isn’t a weapon,
though it’s categorized with weapons for weapon tables and
weapon groups, and it might have weapon traits.
Because it’s
a part of your body, an unarmed attack can’t be Disarmed. It
also doesn’t take up a hand, though a fist or other grasping
appendage follows the same rules as a free-hand weapon.

----

Quote:

DOUBLE SLICE FEAT 1

Requirements You are wielding two melee weapons, each in a different hand.
Make one Strike (see page 308) with each of your two melee weapons, each at your current
multiple attack penalty. The second Strike takes a –2 circumstance penalty if it’s made with
a weapon that doesn’t have the agile trait (see page 182). If both attacks hit, combine the
attacks’ damage, and then add any other applicable enhancements from both weapons. For
purposes of resistances and weaknesses, this is considered a single Strike. This counts as
two attacks when calculating your multiple attack penalty (see page 305).
Quote:

GRACEFUL POISE FEAT 16

Prerequisites Double Slice
With the right positioning, your off-hand weapon
can strike like a scorpion’s stinger. While in this stance, if you make your second Strike from Double Slice with an agile weapon
or agile unarmed attack,
it doesn’t count toward your multiple
attack penalty for the turn.


1 person marked this as a favorite.

Under spell repotoire for Bard it says they gain 1 1st level spell and 4 cantrips and then says they gain 2 second level spells at 3rd, is this intentional? Based on the line following that states "even though you gain slots and repotoire at the same rate" it makes me feel like this is unintentional, especially since sorcerer gets 2 1st levels and they're the other spontaneous caster.

Counter Performance is impossible to use because it costs 2 reactions

Fascinating Performance states "against Will DC" but I cannot find context for a "Will DC" anywhere, only a will saving throw and skill DCs. Do they receive a save or is it a flat 10+Will check for the Performance?


Midnightoker wrote:

Under spell repotoire for Bard it says they gain 1 1st level spell and 4 cantrips and then says they gain 2 second level spells at 3rd, is this intentional? Based on the line following that states "even though you gain slots and repotoire at the same rate" it makes me feel like this is unintentional, especially since sorcerer gets 2 1st levels and they're the other spontaneous caster.

Counter Performance is impossible to use because it costs 2 reactions

Fascinating Performance states "against Will DC" but I cannot find context for a "Will DC" anywhere, only a will saving throw and skill DCs. Do they receive a save or is it a flat 10+Will check for the Performance?

I thought the same too about the Bard's 1st level spells until I read more into it. It's first level class feature Muse will give it an additional spell based on the feat so that it starts with two 1st level spells and will ultimately get a third later.

Edited for error.


I'm thinking also that the Counter Performance, while currently seemingly impossible as it's written, is likely meant to be one reaction with it's Trigger requiring both verbal and somantic casting components available - thus you would have to be able to talk and have a hand free to use the reaction. It just doesn't come off like that since usually when spells have two casting components they take two actions. Honestly I think it'd make more sense to just bring it to a single verbal casting/reaction requirement and not worry about the somatic that way it's in line with the casting rules for everything else.

The Will DC of an observer would be that observer's Will Save Modifier +10. So... say someone was watching you who had a Will Save mod of +3, you'd roll a d20 and add your stuff and compare that to a Will DC of 13. If you got more than that, you succeed, if you got less, then you fail.

Someone will surely correctly me if I'm wrong, but as I understand it now - something that would have been an opposed roll before, like perception vs. stealth, is now a roll vs. DC. So someone trying to spy you if you're trying to be stealthy is your stealth roll vs. their Perception DC which would be 10 + the observer's Perception modifier.

101 to 150 of 421 << first < prev | 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | next > last >>
Community / Forums / Archive / Pathfinder / Playtests & Prerelease Discussions / Pathfinder Playtest / Pathfinder Playtest General Discussion / Errata questions All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.