Ancestry Ability Score Bonus Clarification


Ancestries & Backgrounds

Dark Archive

When you pick an ancestry, you gain two fixed bonuses, one free bonus, and one fixed penalty. Are you permitted to put your free bonus in the same ability score as your penalty to cancel it out?

It says in the rules you cannot put your free bonus in the same ability score as your fixed bonus. But it doesn't seem to clarify if you can put the free bonus in the same score as your fixed penalty or not.


As written, it appears you can "cancel out" your penalty by spending a free bonus.


Indeed, being able to cancel your ability flaw with the free ancestry bonus serves to make things like Dwarf Bards, Goblin Druids, Gnome Barbarians, etc. eminently more playable.


I distinctly recall this even being mentioned in the Goblin preview blog.

It's a great thing, really.

Community / Forums / Archive / Pathfinder / Playtests & Prerelease Discussions / Pathfinder Playtest / Player Rules / Ancestries & Backgrounds / Ancestry Ability Score Bonus Clarification All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.
Recent threads in Ancestries & Backgrounds