Can a background grant you a feat you don't have the prerequisites for?


Skills, Feats, Equipment & Spells


In the playtest adventure, there's a background that grants the Terrain Stalker (rubble) feat. That feat requires that Stealth is Trained as a prereq. Does the background override the prereq?

There's little to no information in the backgrounds chapter beyond the list of backgrounds.

(Yes, I'm the GM and of course this is the first character build for the playtest that I'm checking for mistakes. :) )


A lot of the Backgrounds seem to. Whether the player can actually benefit from the Feat or not unless/until they meet the prerequisite is a matter of some confusion here as well...


That's my concern. If you have feat and stop meeting the prereqs, you lose the benefit. So do you have to meet the prereqs of a feat received in chargen?


I know that Advanced Alchemy (Alchemist's starting class feature) can give you the Alchemical Crafting feat and explicitly mentions it can do so even if you don't meet the prerequisites (in this case, being Trained in Crafting), so I'm assuming that other instances of gaining a bonus feat would follow the same logic.

It should probably be clarified somewhere, though.


Actually, do we even know if you lose access to a feat if you lose the prereqs for it? Maybe that's not a rule any more.


Joe Mucchiello wrote:
Actually, do we even know if you lose access to a feat if you lose the prereqs for it? Maybe that's not a rule any more.

Considering what I mentioned earlier, and the fact that I don't recall seeing a rule that mentions losing a feat (barring retraining during downtime), I don't think so.


I don't see any text that says you lose it. In this case, if it were at my table, I'd say the player can keep the Feat (it's still active/counts/can be used).

However, this could potentially lead to some problems, or at least some weird situations. For instance, if your stats were temporarily increased, and you were able to take a Feat (Hefty Hauler, on page 167, pre-req 12 Str), and then your Wizard went down to his normal 10, but could keep the Feat, that would be odd.

We could probably benefit from an official ruling on this, and maybe a new rule should be written, or the Feats in general should be proof-read again.


Pathfinder Adventure Path, Lost Omens, Rulebook Subscriber
Joe Mucchiello wrote:
Actually, do we even know if you lose access to a feat if you lose the prereqs for it? Maybe that's not a rule any more.

If you retrain a feat that is a pre-requisite to a later feat, you loose the ability to use the later feat. So, I'd say that this is enough of an indicator that unless there is a specific statement that you gain the feat without worry to pre-requisites, the feat won't do you any good until you manage to meat the preqs.

Liberty's Edge

Has this been clarified anywhere?


AFAIK, it doesn't deny any feats, independent of the skill choices of any PC. That said, I don't know whether the feat can be retrained, or whether it is dependent on investment in the future. My RAW interpretation says no, in most cases, but IDK the correct way to adjuticate every aspect.

Community / Forums / Archive / Pathfinder / Playtests & Prerelease Discussions / Pathfinder Playtest / Player Rules / Skills, Feats, Equipment & Spells / Can a background grant you a feat you don't have the prerequisites for? All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.
Recent threads in Skills, Feats, Equipment & Spells