
Obakararuir |

So right off the bad, what appears to be all monsters getting AOEs if you so much as sneeze in a threatened square vs. just fighters on the PC side seems a bit lopsided in the reading of the movement rules.
Is this just a case of the example that was used or is this actually what occurs regardless of monster?
What am I missing / not seeing that I should be seeing?

Obakararuir |

I'm referring to pg 306.
"TRIGGERING MOVES
1. Valeros can approach position 1 with the Stride action without
triggering reactions.
2. If Valeros approaches this way to position 2, he triggers reactions
from both the hobgoblin and the troll. The troll has a reach of 10 feet, so Valeros triggers reactions from both enemies when he moves out of the second square and into the third.
3. If Seoni Strides to position 3, she triggers reactions from the
hobgoblin and the troll. Because of its 10-foot reach, the troll
could use its reaction when Seoni left either square. She could
Step twice to get there to avoid triggering reactions, but that
uses 2 actions instead of 1."
It says triggering reactions... not necessarily AOEs so I'm guessing I just inferred that part and the converse would thus be true for monsters moving into threatened areas of PCs, in that their movement would also trigger reactions.