So this is a weird thing that just happened in my game.
The group opened up a bag. Plot wise it had "Pocketful of Vipers" which spawns some poison vipers. Which are damage wise 1d4-1. But they have a poison effect if they hit.
So due to the sudden appearance, I ruled they got a surprised round and attacked. Well I got the following result on damage...
1d4-1 = (1)-1 for 0 damage.
Part of me clicked and said "Wait if I didn't actually do damage... do I still poison?"
Do you apply poison if the attack doesn't do damage due to either dice or maybe DR?
|4 people marked this as a favorite.|