Monstrous Physique And Range Attacks Interaction


Rules Questions


Pathfinder Adventure Path, Companion, Lost Omens Subscriber

Hi everyone,

Normally the Monstrous Physique series of spells are not used to boost the effectiveness of range attacks however since the Sanguine Angel prestige class allows to use Strength for attack rolls made with bows, I was wondering if arrows resize to your original size when they leave your bow due to the Monstrous Physique not having the resizing clause as in Enlarge Person. Thanks.

For reference below -

Polymorph:
A polymorph spell transforms your physical body to take on the shape of another creature. While these spells make you appear to be the creature, granting you a +10 bonus on Disguise skill checks, they do not grant you all of the abilities and powers of the creature. Each polymorph spell allows you to assume the form of a creature of a specific type, granting you a number of bonuses to your ability scores and a bonus to your natural armor. In addition, each polymorph spell can grant you a number of other benefits, including movement types, resistances, and senses. If the form you choose grants these benefits, or a greater ability of the same type, you gain the listed benefit. If the form grants a lesser ability of the same type, you gain the lesser ability instead. Your base speed changes to match that of the form you assume. If the form grants a swim or burrow speed, you maintain the ability to breathe if you are swimming or burrowing. The DC for any of these abilities equals your DC for the polymorph spell used to change you into that form.

In addition to these benefits, you gain any of the natural attacks of the base creature, including proficiency in those attacks. These attacks are based on your base attack bonus, modified by your Strength or Dexterity as appropriate, and use your Strength modifier for determining damage bonuses.

If a polymorph spell causes you to change size, apply the size modifiers appropriately, changing your armor class, attack bonus, Combat Maneuver Bonus, and Stealth skill modifiers. Your ability scores are not modified by this change unless noted by the spell.

Unless otherwise noted, polymorph spells cannot be used to change into specific individuals. Although many of the fine details can be controlled, your appearance is always that of a generic member of that creature's type. Polymorph spells cannot be used to assume the form of a creature with a template or an advanced version of a creature.

When you cast a polymorph spell that changes you into a creature of the animal, dragon, elemental, magical beast, plant, or vermin type, all of your gear melds into your body. Items that provide constant bonuses and do not need to be activated continue to function while melded in this way (with the exception of armor and shield bonuses, which cease to function). Items that require activation cannot be used while you maintain that form. While in such a form, you cannot cast any spells that require material components (unless you have the Eschew Materials or Natural Spell feat), and can only cast spells with somatic or verbal components if the form you choose has the capability to make such movements or speak, such as a dragon. Other polymorph spells might be subject to this restriction as well, if they change you into a form that is unlike your original form (subject to GM discretion). If your new form does not cause your equipment to meld into your form, the equipment resizes to match your new size.

While under the effects of a polymorph spell, you lose all extraordinary and supernatural abilities that depend on your original form (such as keen senses, scent, and darkvision), as well as any natural attacks and movement types possessed by your original form. You also lose any class features that depend upon form, but those that allow you to add features (such as sorcerers that can grow claws) still function. While most of these should be obvious, the GM is the final arbiter of what abilities depend on form and are lost when a new form is assumed. Your new form might restore a number of these abilities if they are possessed by the new form.

You can only be affected by one polymorph spell at a time. If a new polymorph spell is cast on you (or you activate a polymorph effect, such as wild shape), you can decide whether or not to allow it to affect you, taking the place of the old spell. In addition, other spells that change your size have no effect on you while you are under the effects of a polymorph spell.

If a polymorph spell is cast on a creature that is smaller than Small or larger than Medium, first adjust its ability scores to one of these two sizes using the following table before applying the bonuses granted by the polymorph spell.

Enlarge Person:
This spell causes instant growth of a humanoid creature, doubling its height and multiplying its weight by 8. This increase changes the creature's size category to the next larger one. The target gains a +2 size bonus to Strength, a –2 size penalty to Dexterity (to a minimum of 1), and a –1 penalty on attack rolls and AC due to its increased size.

A humanoid creature whose size increases to Large has a space of 10 feet and a natural reach of 10 feet. This spell does not change the target's speed.

If insufficient room is available for the desired growth, the creature attains the maximum possible size and may make a Strength check (using its increased Strength) to burst any enclosures in the process. If it fails, it is constrained without harm by the materials enclosing it—the spell cannot be used to crush a creature by increasing its size.

All equipment worn or carried by a creature is similarly enlarged by the spell. Melee weapons affected by this spell deal more damage (see Table: Tiny and Large Weapon Damage). Other magical properties are not affected by this spell. Any enlarged item that leaves an enlarged creature's possession (including a projectile or thrown weapon) instantly returns to its normal size. This means that thrown and projectile weapons deal their normal damage. Magical properties of enlarged items are not increased by this spell.

Monstrous Physique I:
When you cast this spell, you can assume the form of any Small or Medium creature of the monstrous humanoid type. If the form you assume has any of the following abilities, you gain the listed ability: climb 30 feet, fly 30 feet (average maneuverability), swim 30 feet, darkvision 60 feet, low-light vision, and scent. If the form you assume has the aquatic subtype, you gain the aquatic and amphibious subtypes.


Pathfinder Adventure Path, Companion, Lost Omens Subscriber

Bumping for visibility


I would say no. As Enlarge Person has specific language that other spells do not. Therefore spells such as Monstrous Physique and Giant Form are good for boosting ranged damage, especially with rock throwing.


Technically correct, but I'd wager more GMs would rule that items resize back to normal after leaving your person than the other way around, for consistency's sake if nothing else. Besides, it's likely an oversight.


blahpers wrote:
Technically correct, but I'd wager more GMs would rule that items resize back to normal after leaving your person than the other way around, for consistency's sake if nothing else. Besides, it's likely an oversight.

Monstrous physique and giant form are polymorph spells, enlarge person is not. There is nothing inconsistent in the former behaving differently.

EDIT: Though it may well be an oversight in the polymorph rules.


Pathfinder Adventure Path, Companion, Lost Omens Subscriber
Poison Dusk wrote:
I would say no. As Enlarge Person has specific language that other spells do not. Therefore spells such as Monstrous Physique and Giant Form are good for boosting ranged damage, especially with rock throwing.

I completely overlooked the rock throwing monster rule, I think I will take that into account when I use the spell in the future.

blahpers wrote:
Technically correct, but I'd wager more GMs would rule that items resize back to normal after leaving your person than the other way around, for consistency's sake if nothing else. Besides, it's likely an oversight.

It is probably for the best that I check with my GM on what is his ruling on this.

Fuzzy-Wuzzy wrote:

Monstrous physique and giant form are polymorph spells, enlarge person is not. There is nothing inconsistent in the former behaving differently.

EDIT: Though it may well be an oversight in the polymorph rules.

Good catch, I had not noticed that Enlarge Person is just a transmutation spell and it is not a polymorph spell. Based on your reply and Blapher's I am starting to think it is probably an oversight with the polymorph rules.

Thanks for answering my rules question everyone.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder RPG / Rules Questions / Monstrous Physique And Range Attacks Interaction All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.