Ninja Tricks Forgotten trick --> Combat trick


Pathfinder First Edition General Discussion

Manager - The Kessel Run

Hey guys!

I have once again come to ask for guidance.

If a ninja uses the forgotten trick, to gain the combat trick ability.... How many feats can she call upon in one round?
For example, could one use it to get power attack and also Cleave?
I did not see any limitations on how much Ki one can spend in a round.


I had thought there was a limit that spending ki was a swift action, but I was incorrectly associating some basic spending uses of ki with all potentially uses of ki.

Technically, the forgotten trick ability doesn't list an activation usage for the ability. And when action costs are listed, they default to standard action.


Even if spending ki to activate forgotten trick is a swift action, you only get one swift action per round.

Swift Actions wrote:
A swift action consumes a very small amount of time, but represents a larger expenditure of effort than a free action. You can perform one swift action per turn without affecting your ability to perform other actions. In that regard, a swift action is like a free action. You can, however, perform only one single swift action per turn, regardless of what other actions you take. You can take a swift action anytime you would normally be allowed to take a free action. Swift actions usually involve spellcasting, activating a feat, or the activation of magic items.

Manager - The Kessel Run

Hmm, a lot of the Ki uses are free actions...
I hope we can get better clarification.


-Markus- wrote:
Hmm, a lot of the Ki uses are free actions...

What particular uses are you thinking of?

Manager - The Kessel Run

Fuzzy-Wuzzy wrote:
-Markus- wrote:
Hmm, a lot of the Ki uses are free actions...
What particular uses are you thinking of?

It's mostly to get 2nd tier feats, so you'd have to spend Ki on the prerequisite feat, and the feat you want.

The ki cost to do it is already very high (6) I just want to know how long it would take to implement.


While not quite the same, I think the Paragon Surge FAQ should apply.

Ninja Tricks wrote:
Unless otherwise noted, a ninja cannot select an individual ninja trick more than once.

You can only get Combat Trick once, so using Forgotten Trick to get multiple Combat Tricks does not seem right.

/cevah

Manager - The Kessel Run

Cevah wrote:

While not quite the same, I think the Paragon Surge FAQ should apply.

Ninja Tricks wrote:
Unless otherwise noted, a ninja cannot select an individual ninja trick more than once.

You can only get Combat Trick once, so using Forgotten Trick to get multiple Combat Tricks does not seem right.

/cevah

Yes but I could use forgotten trick to take for example:

Unarmed Combat Training
Style Master -Kirin Style
Combat Trick - Kirin Strike

3 Separate Ninja tricks, all used once.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / General Discussion / Ninja Tricks Forgotten trick --> Combat trick All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.