Attack of Opportunity and Reach


Rules Questions


Hello

I wonder if it causes opportunity attacks to enter a threatening area with a range greater than yours.

Example: An average warrior carrying a long sword moves 20ft to attack another warrior with a 10ft range spear.

1- Can the lancer make an AoO for the swordman entering the threat area of ​​the lancer?
2- If the spear's range was 15ft and if it had Combat Reflexes, he could not make two AoOs, right?
3- Mediuns fighters attack a Giant, they cause AoO?

Scarab Sages

Pathfinder Battles Case Subscriber; Pathfinder Card Game, Companion, Maps, Pathfinder Accessories, Starfinder Adventure Path, Starfinder Maps, Starfinder Roleplaying Game, Starfinder Society Subscriber; Pathfinder Roleplaying Game Charter Superscriber

Entering a threatened space does not provoke an attack of opportunity.

It is leaving a threatened square. If the creature has reach, only one attack can be made if they leave the threatened square 10 feet out into the square adjacent to the creature making the account.

I do not think you can make two AoO against the same person even with combat reflexes, but I also think it has never come up in my game.


You cannot make two AoOs against one foe for the same trigger, and "movement" counts as one trigger no matter how much of it they make. You can make two AoOs against one foe if they do two different things (like move out of a threatened square and drink a potion) and you have enough attacks of opportunity left to take them both.


The same opportunity never provokes more than a single attack of opportunity even if you have combat reflexes. In the same section is specifically states that moving out of more than one square threatened by the same opponent does not provoke more than one attack of opportunity even if you have combat reflexes.


That's awesome! Many thanks guys


Fuzzy-Wuzzy wrote:
You cannot make two AoOs against one foe for the same trigger, and "movement" counts as one trigger no matter how much of it they make.

Note that some things count as two triggers that sound like they could be just one:

FAQs wrote:

Ranged Touch Attack Spells and AOOs: When you cast a spell that allows you to make a ranged touch attack (such as scorching ray), and an enemy is within reach, do you provoke two attacks of opportunity?

Yes, you provoke two attacks of opportunity: one for casting the spell and one for making a ranged attack, since these are two separate events.
(Note that at spell that fires multiple simultaneous rays, such as scorching ray, only provokes one AOO for making the ranged attack instead of one AOO for each ranged attack. It still provokes for casting the spell.


Matthew Downie wrote:
Fuzzy-Wuzzy wrote:
You cannot make two AoOs against one foe for the same trigger, and "movement" counts as one trigger no matter how much of it they make.

Note that some things count as two triggers that sound like they could be just one:

FAQs wrote:

Ranged Touch Attack Spells and AOOs: When you cast a spell that allows you to make a ranged touch attack (such as scorching ray), and an enemy is within reach, do you provoke two attacks of opportunity?

Yes, you provoke two attacks of opportunity: one for casting the spell and one for making a ranged attack, since these are two separate events.
(Note that at spell that fires multiple simultaneous rays, such as scorching ray, only provokes one AOO for making the ranged attack instead of one AOO for each ranged attack. It still provokes for casting the spell.

True! OTOH "move out of a threatened square" and "move into an enemy's square" count as only one. That one always throws me, but it's crucial for Tiny creatures.

AoOs are a good mechanic IMHO but the details can be b+#%&y to keep track of.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Attack of Opportunity and Reach All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.