Are spell slots of a Multiclass Mystic + Technomancer interchangeable?


Rules Questions

Grand Lodge

2 people marked this as FAQ candidate.
Pathfinder Adventure, Adventure Path, Companion, Lost Omens, Starfinder Adventure Path, Starfinder Maps Subscriber

I have not seen an answer either way and can find nothing in a FAQ but does a multiclass Mystic/Technomancer combine the number of spell slots granted by both classes into one pool and then cast any spell they know with them?

And can they use there spell cache to cast a spell from the mystic spell list?

Reading the rulebook atm seems to suggest you can for both of these.

The Exchange

1 person marked this as a favorite.
Pathfinder Battles Case Subscriber; Starfinder Charter Superscriber
DanielB wrote:


Reading the rulebook atm seems to suggest you can for both of these.

Disagree, the way that spell slots are discussed in both the Mystic and Technomancer entry talk about casting spells in slots after a discussion of knowing Mystic or Technomancer spells.

"It’s important to keep track of which effects and prerequisites rely on a character level versus class level. For example, feats might require a minimum class level or character level, while almost all class features are based on the character’s level in the class that grants that feature. Casting spells is an exception—when determining caster level, a character adds together his levels from different spellcasting classes (such as mystic and technomancer)."

So while Spellcasting is called out as an exception it is only called out as an exception for purposes of Caster Level not for spells known and when you can cast them.

In conclusion, you track mystic spell slots and technomancer spell slots and spells you can cast in them separately.


2 people marked this as a favorite.

No

Community / Forums / Starfinder / Rules Questions / Are spell slots of a Multiclass Mystic + Technomancer interchangeable? All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.