Estra's examination power


Rules Questions and Gameplay Discussion

Scarab Sages

In Mummy's Mask, Estra has this power: "On your turn, you may recharge a spell to examine the top 2 ( [] or 3) cards of your location deck...."

My question: Can you do this examination before she does her first exploration?


Yes. Going by what's written you can even do it on someone else's turn.


Irgy wrote:
Yes. Going by what's written you can even do it on someone else's turn.

???

"On your turn"

But -- +1 to the idea that you can do this before your free exploration. You can even do it before your Move step, and enact the additional power that allows you to encounter an examined card (if it has the Undead trait), then Move somewhere else, and Explore.


1 person marked this as a favorite.
Pathfinder Battles Case Subscriber; Pathfinder Card Game Subscriber

+1 for elcoderdude.

You can do it anytime "on your turn" as long as it is:
- after you advance the blessing deck and resolve "at the start of your turn" effects.
- before you start managing "end of turn effects" (thus by definition before you reset your hand at the end of your turn since it happens after managing "end of turn effects").
- not during an exploration.
- not while you are doing something else (finish one thing before starting the other).

So you can do it :
- before giving a card
- before moving
- before first explore
- between explore
- before trying to close because location is empty
- before "end of turn effects"

IMHO


elcoderdude wrote:
Irgy wrote:
Yes. Going by what's written you can even do it on someone else's turn.

???

"On your turn"

But -- +1 to the idea that you can do this before your free exploration. You can even do it before your Move step, and enact the additional power that allows you to encounter an examined card (if it has the Undead trait), then Move somewhere else, and Explore.

Haha yes except for the bit where it explicitly says you can't. Was that really there the whole time?

Scarab Sages

Thanks everyone! Appreciate the quick rules clarification.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder Adventure Card Game / Rules Questions and Gameplay Discussion / Estra's examination power All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.