Omnicide Damage


Rules Questions


Hey everyone. I was just hoping to get some clarifcation regarding the Omnicide ability granted from the Elemental Annihilator kineticist archetype. Here is the description of the ability...

At 20th level, an elemental annihilator can unleash omnicide, a unique physical composite blast.

Omnicide deals 10d6+10 points of bludgeoning damage, 10d6+10 points of cold damage, 10d6+10 points of electricity damage, 10d6+10 points of fire damage, and 10d6+10 points of force damage, and counts as a blast of all five elements.

Omnicide costs 4 points of burn, which can be reduced by composite specialization as normal.

So my questions are as follows:

1) If you are an 'Overwhelming Soul', do you add the extra attack and damage boost from 'Overwhelming Power' to this attack?

[Side note: Here is the description of 'Overwhelming Power']
At 3rd level, an overwhelming soul gains a +1 bonus on attack rolls and damage rolls with her kinetic blasts. The damage bonus doesn’t apply to kinetic blade, kinetic whip, or other infusions that don’t apply the damage bonus from elemental overflow.

This bonus increases by 1 at 6th level and every 3 levels thereafter.

2) Since this is a physical composite blast, do you also add the kineticist's appropriate modifier (normally Con) to the damage?

3) Do feats like 'Deadly Aim' work with this blast (and if so, is the extra damage only applied once)?

Any and all help is appreciated. Thanks again. :)


1. Yes. Overwhelming Power would apply assuming Omnicide qualifies for or uses the bonus damage from your elemental overflow.
2. Yes. You add the appropriate modifier.
3. Yes. Your blast is a ranged attack, Deadly Aim applies to ranged attacks.

That is insane, by the way. 50D6+50+whatever, ouch.


It gets even worse when you add 'Empower' to the ability (of course, this kinda makes determining damage difficult if the target has resistances)


Just gonna put this out there, 50d6+50 ~= 400 damage. While the +6 to hit from Overwhelming Soul is great (you really don't want to miss with all that damage) the +6 damage is probably not going to change much. With that thought, Deadly Aim is probably not worth the penalty (Deadly Aim = -6 to hit, +12 damage, ~3% increase in damage for a ~40% decrease in accuracy).

Sczarni

Can empower be applied to non spell abilities? What do you add the +2 to to determine spell slot used?


I like the question: "I have a power that does 50d6+50 damage, can you explain me if that particular combo can allow me to do 50d6+51 instead?"
^_^


maouse wrote:
Can empower be applied to non spell abilities? What do you add the +2 to to determine spell slot used?

(In Metakinesis) "By accepting 1 point of burn, she can empower her kinetic blast (as if using Empower Spell)"

Yep. They can also maximize it for +2 burn. 500 damage for 7 points of burn.


Righteous.


501 damage. Don't forget Overwhelming Soul !


MrCharisma wrote:
Just gonna put this out there, 50d6+50 ~= 400 damage. While the +6 to hit from Overwhelming Soul is great (you really don't want to miss with all that damage) the +6 damage is probably not going to change much. With that thought, Deadly Aim is probably not worth the penalty (Deadly Aim = -6 to hit, +12 damage, ~3% increase in damage for a ~40% decrease in accuracy).

Wow my maths was way off ... 5d6+50 ~=225 damage. The point is still valid though (deadly aim, ~5.5% increase in damage, ~40%* decrease in accuracy).


VoodistMonk wrote:

1. Yes. Overwhelming Power would apply assuming Omnicide qualifies for or uses the bonus damage from your elemental overflow.

2. Yes. You add the appropriate modifier.
3. Yes. Your blast is a ranged attack, Deadly Aim applies to ranged attacks.

That is insane, by the way. 50D6+50+whatever, ouch.

~250 points of damage is not a lot at level 20. Melee characters start hitting those numbers reliably much earlier.


Volkard Abendroth wrote:
VoodistMonk wrote:

1. Yes. Overwhelming Power would apply assuming Omnicide qualifies for or uses the bonus damage from your elemental overflow.

2. Yes. You add the appropriate modifier.
3. Yes. Your blast is a ranged attack, Deadly Aim applies to ranged attacks.

That is insane, by the way. 50D6+50+whatever, ouch.

~250 points of damage is not a lot at level 20. Melee characters start hitting those numbers reliably much earlier.
Darkblitz9 wrote:
maouse wrote:
Can empower be applied to non spell abilities? What do you add the +2 to to determine spell slot used?

(In Metakinesis) "By accepting 1 point of burn, she can empower her kinetic blast (as if using Empower Spell)"

Yep. They can also maximize it for +2 burn. 500 damage for 7 points of burn.

A kineticist willing to accept large quantities of burn can indeed deal tremendous damage.

once or twice per day.

A fighter dual wielding kukri or swinging a nodachi can deal even more damage, and he can do it all day long.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder RPG / Rules Questions / Omnicide Damage All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.