replayable scenarios


Pathfinder Society

Scarab Sages 5/5 Venture-Agent, Delaware—Newark

Are the tier 1 scenarios still repeatable?
it isn't in the new guide for society play

Silver Crusade 5/5 Venture-Lieutenant, Pennsylvania—Pittsburgh aka Terminalmancer

6 people marked this as a favorite.
John Freida wrote:

Are the tier 1 scenarios still repeatable?

it isn't in the new guide for society play

It's still there. In the v9.1 release of the guide, under Evergreen Adventures:

Pathfinder Society Roleplaying Guild Guide v9.1, Page 19 wrote:

EVERGREEN ADVENTURES

All Tier 1 and 1-2 adventures can be replayed an unlimited number of times with a 1st-level character for credit. Tier 1–2 adventures can also be played with a 2nd-level character once for credit in each campaign mode (Core and Standard Modes). GMs receive one Chronicle sheet each time they run one of the Tier 1 and Tier 1-2 adventure. They may apply a Tier 1–2 Chronicle sheet to one 2nd-level character per adventure per campaign mode.

I keep a list of what's currently replayable here, if that's helpful.

Scarab Sages 5/5 Venture-Agent, Delaware—Newark

Thanks.

Alex Wreschnig wrote:
John Freida wrote:

Are the tier 1 scenarios still repeatable?

it isn't in the new guide for society play

It's still there. In the v9.1 release of the guide, under Evergreen Adventures:

Grand Lodge 5/5 Venture-Captain, Arizona—Phoenix aka TriOmegaZero

Alex Wreschnig wrote:
I keep a list of what's currently replayable here, if that's helpful.

Much obliged for this and your ITS spreadsheet.

Silver Crusade 5/5 Venture-Lieutenant, Pennsylvania—Pittsburgh aka Terminalmancer

Steven Schopmeyer wrote:
Alex Wreschnig wrote:
I keep a list of what's currently replayable here, if that's helpful.
Much obliged for this and your ITS spreadsheet.

Thanks! Glad to hear it's helpful.

Grand Lodge 4/5 Venture-Captain, Tennessee—Knoxville aka tchrman35

1 person marked this as a favorite.

Of note, Alex - Ire of the Storm's first chronicle is 1-2. Might be a nice addition to your list. And it can make a reasonable stand-alone adventure anyway.

Silver Crusade 5/5 Venture-Lieutenant, Pennsylvania—Pittsburgh aka Terminalmancer

Good catch! Thanks.


Pathfinder Roleplaying Game Superscriber

This is maybe obvious, but I can't quite be certain with how things are worded: if I played a scenario at Level 1 in Tier 1-2, but that scenario is also playable at Tier 4-5, can I replay the scenario with a different 1st level character in Tier 1-2, or is that limited to only scenarios that are only playable at Tier 1-2?

Thanks, and sorry for the moderate necrocommenting!

Grand Lodge 5/5 Venture-Captain, Arizona—Phoenix aka TriOmegaZero

Yes, replayable scenarios are able to be played at 1st level an unlimited number of times.

Grand Lodge 4/5

I'm not sure that's the situation. Most Tier 1-5 scenarios are not replayable. There are two exceptions now that work as described (can be replayed with 1st level characters, one time with level 2-5). The organiser or GM should tell you beforehand if that's the case.

Grand Lodge 5/5 Venture-Captain, Arizona—Phoenix aka TriOmegaZero

There are a couple 1-5 quest series, such as Fallen Family, Broken Name and House of Harmonius Wisdom.

Grand Lodge 4/5

Was it one of those two?


Pathfinder Roleplaying Game Superscriber

It was not one of those two, that is the linguistic clarification I am looking for: If a scenario not on the list of specifically replayable scenarios is playable as both 1-2 and 4-5 but I played it at 1st level in the low tier, is it replayable per the text Alex quoted above, or is that rule only relevant for scenarios that are only playable in the 1-2 tier? In other words, is a scenario that has both a 1-2 low tier and a 4-5 high tier not considered a Tier 1-2 scenario as far as the language above is concerned? The wording is just ambiguous enough that I felt I had to ask.

Grand Lodge 5/5 Venture-Captain, Arizona—Phoenix aka TriOmegaZero

No, if the scenario is not replayable you cannot replay it at Subtier 4-5 after playing it at Subtier 1-2. Such a scenarios is a Tier 1-5, not a Tier 1-2. (Subtier is different from Tier.)


Pathfinder Roleplaying Game Superscriber
Steven Schopmeyer wrote:
No, if the scenario is not replayable you cannot replay it at Subtier 4-5 after playing it at Subtier 1-2. Such a scenarios is a Tier 1-5, not a Tier 1-2. (Subtier is different from Tier.)

I never once asked if I could play it again at 4-5, there is no ambiguity there. The question was if I can play it with a different character at 1-2, but the clarification that a Scenario's "Subtier" should be considered different than its "Tier" does seem to be what I needed, thank you.

4/5 Venture-Agent, Massachusetts—Southcoast aka JDDyslexia

If it's not on the replayable list, it's not replayable. That's pretty much the best way to say it.

Tiers of a specific scenario don't matter, and the intricacies of how often you can play a replayable at different levels/tiers only come into play with the replayable list.

Alex's link above is an accurate, up-to-date list of all scenarios you can play more than once, and highlighted the guidelines for doing so.


Pathfinder Roleplaying Game Superscriber
Joe Bouchard wrote:
If it's not on the replayable list, it's not replayable. That's pretty much the best way to say it.

That seems to be true, but I could not actually find that said anywhere and the language ambiguity I was asking about seemed to imply that it could be otherwise.

Thanks to everyone for their assistance, and especially to Alex for the service he provides the Society!

Silver Crusade 5/5 Venture-Lieutenant, Pennsylvania—Pittsburgh aka Terminalmancer

1 person marked this as a favorite.
GreatGraySkwid wrote:
Joe Bouchard wrote:
If it's not on the replayable list, it's not replayable. That's pretty much the best way to say it.

That seems to be true, but I could not actually find that said anywhere and the language ambiguity I was asking about seemed to imply that it could be otherwise.

Thanks to everyone for their assistance, and especially to Alex for the service he provides the Society!

Hi there!

Sorry for the confusion. I think the language used in the guide is actually pretty precise--any adventure in tier 1 or tier 1-2 is replayable with level 1s--but the difference between tier and subtier wasn't exactly called out. If you haven't noticed the difference between tier and subtier when it's called out elsewhere in the guide, it's not something that's easy to pick up on!

It's too late to have saved you any frustration, but I've added a note about that difference to the Evergreen list. Hopefully it will help make things clearer for the majority of us PFS players who didn't realize tier and subtier aren't equivalent terms!

Thanks for checking in, and happy skwidding!

Liberty's Edge 5/5 Venture-Lieutenant, Maryland— Baltimore aka Qstor

You can always replay an evergreen with a level 1. But you can only play an evergreen ONCE with a level 2.

Community / Forums / Organized Play / Pathfinder Society / replayable scenarios All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.