Another Non-Lethal Damage question.


Rules Questions


So, the other topic got me thinking and wondering about this

Core Rulebook, p. 191 wrote:


When your nonlethal damage equals your current hit points, you’re staggered. You can only take a standard action or a move action in
each round (in addition to free, immediate, and swift actions). You cease being staggered when your current hit points once again exceed your nonlethal damage. When your nonlethal damage exceeds your current
hit points, you fall unconscious. While unconscious, you are helpless (see page 567).

So...lets say you have 20 HP, first attack, you get hit for 6 points lethal, second attack you get hit for 5 points non-lethal so your hp tallies are 14 current, with 5 non-lethal. Now, what if the next attack does 10 points of lethal damage, meaning your current hit points are 4...does that mean you go unconscious?


Yup. Your nonlethal damage (6) exceeds your current hit points (4).

What's fun is figuring out how things like Diehard or ferocity interact with this mechanic.


blahpers wrote:

Yup. Your nonlethal damage (6) exceeds your current hit points (4).

What's fun is figuring out how things like Diehard or ferocity interact with this mechanic.

I thought as much. I like that it's the non-lethal that knocks him out even though it may not have been the last attack :D


Imo is more funny this part:
"If a creature’s nonlethal damage is equal to his total maximum hit points (not his current hit points), all further nonlethal damage is treated as lethal damage."

I remember discovering that the bad way, my monk wanted to incapacitate a trouble maker so I decided to attack non lethally, you know, like a tap in the back of the head or punch in the stomach, long story short I not only left him unconscious, I instakilled him because my average damage was like 30 and he had like 8 HPs.


Yup, nothing like accidentally critting "nonlethally" with a pickaxe.

Liberty's Edge

Pathfinder Rulebook Subscriber

I had thought there was a rule somewhere that a character could "pull his punch" and only take a guy to -1 if he wanted. Can't seem to find it though.


Nope.


thaX wrote:
I had thought there was a rule somewhere that a character could "pull his punch" and only take a guy to -1 if he wanted. Can't seem to find it though.

It's a rogue thing ;)

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Another Non-Lethal Damage question. All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.