live play feed


Prerelease Discussion

Dark Archive

3 people marked this as a favorite.

Jason is running the guys from Game Trade Media at GAMA right now.
https://www.facebook.com/Gametrademedia/videos/1472858266156741/

We just found out that zombies are susceptible to slashing weapons and take double damage.

Edit #1: Zombies can't make a bite attack unless they make a successful claw attack.

Edit #2: if you take damage to go below 0 hp, you go to 0 and gain the "Dying (x)" condition. If you get to dying 4, you die. You have to make a save determined by the strength of the creature that took you to 0, modified by your Dying (x) amount. If you save, you gain a hp, and if you get back to 1 hp, you are unconscious and no longer dying. If you get healed to greater than 1 hp, you still have the dying condition and have to make the save. If you fail the save, you lose the dying condition but are unconscious. If you make the save, you are conscious.

Edit #3: a fighter that doesn't spend an action to ready his shield can spend his reaction to raise the shield and get the AC bonus, but not the Shield Block ability.

Edit #4: If you want to hold an action, it costs 2 actions.
5' step is an action and does not provoke any reaction.


Pathfinder Rulebook Subscriber

Stabilize takes a creature from 0hp to 1hp.

Rogue is doing 1d6+4 with a rapier.

Recovering from unconscious leaves you with lingering reduced actions for a round.

Valeros is built to raise his shield as a reaction if he needs.


I like the channel multi-action rule.


Pathfinder Rulebook Subscriber
Demon Lord of Paladins! wrote:
I like the channel multi-action rule.

The amount of likes flying across the screen when it was described was impressive.

Sovereign Court

Pathfinder Adventure Path, Card Game, Companion, Lost Omens, Pathfinder Accessories, Rulebook, Starfinder Adventure Path, Starfinder Maps, Starfinder Roleplaying Game, Starfinder Society Subscriber

I've seen conflicting accounts of how shields work. Jason just explained that the action "Ready Shield" only lasts a round.


Pathfinder Rulebook Subscriber

Command only makes somebody spend one action now.

Sovereign Court

Pathfinder Adventure Path, Card Game, Companion, Lost Omens, Pathfinder Accessories, Rulebook, Starfinder Adventure Path, Starfinder Maps, Starfinder Roleplaying Game, Starfinder Society Subscriber

Sneak attack!


Pathfinder Rulebook Subscriber

Readying an action costs two actions. I wonder if you can ready a two-action spell for three actions? Or cast the verbal component and complete as a readied action?

Sovereign Court

Pathfinder Adventure Path, Card Game, Companion, Lost Omens, Pathfinder Accessories, Rulebook, Starfinder Adventure Path, Starfinder Maps, Starfinder Roleplaying Game, Starfinder Society Subscriber

Ohhh. You remain unconscious even after healing. Fort check to wake up?


It sounds like Ready Shield needs to last until a block reaction is used, not just every round all the time.


+1 Mace does an extra 1d8

Silver Crusade

Pathfinder Adventure Path Subscriber

Death and dying looks interesting

Dark Archive

2 people marked this as a favorite.

If you crit a Dying roll, you heal to 1 and regain consciousness with 2 actions.

Edit: cover provides +2 AC. Taking Cover as an action grants an additional +2.

Edit #2: animal companions get 2 actions, and you have to spend an action to command them.

Edit #3: Friday's Blog is about proficiencies. Monday's is about the Fighter.

Edit #4: rings of protection and cloaks of resistance are not in the new stuff. This is part of the new approach to magic items.

Dark Archive

1 person marked this as a favorite.

Lion shield! Bite people when you use the block reaction.

Hello, Glorymane!

Liberty's Edge

1 person marked this as a favorite.
Demon Lord of Paladins! wrote:
+1 Mace does an extra 1d8

This is good to know. We saw the +1 dagger in the Glass Cannon podcast dealing 2d4 damage, but they technically didn't confirm that it was +1 weapon die (one of the players said that's what it was, but it sounded like they were just assuming), so it could have been just +1d4 damage no matter the weapon. But this confirms that it's +1 weapon die.


Pathfinder Companion, Maps Subscriber; Pathfinder Roleplaying Game Superscriber
JRutterbush wrote:
Demon Lord of Paladins! wrote:
+1 Mace does an extra 1d8
This is good to know. We saw the +1 dagger in the Glass Cannon podcast dealing 2d4 damage, but they technically didn't confirm that it was +1 weapon die (one of the players said that's what it was, but it sounded like they were just assuming), so it could have been just +1d4 damage no matter the weapon. But this confirms that it's +1 weapon die.

That's a huge upgrade that ought definitely to cut down on the number of pluses one needs on a weapon. Does it still give a +1 to attack, or is the enhancement completely on the damage side now?

Community / Forums / Archive / Pathfinder / Playtests & Prerelease Discussions / Pathfinder Playtest / Pathfinder Playtest Prerelease Discussion / live play feed All Messageboards
Recent threads in Pathfinder Playtest Prerelease Discussion