''Archetypes'' in the Advanced player's Guide

Rules Questions

I've searched and found nothing on the specific question.

CONTEXT : On pages 72 and 73 of the APG, a list of core-class archetypes is presented. Concerning the Wizard, Cleric and Sorcerer sub-sections, these are classified in the section archetypes, but when I search anywhere else, these are not classified as archetypes, even if they are alternate class features similar to an archetype.

QUESTION : Are these archetypes?

Would you please give an answer based on evidence and quotations, if possible? If not, any ideas would be helpful.

Pathfinder Starfinder Adventure Path Subscriber

Also in the APG, on the same pages you referenced:

Cleric: Instead of specific archetypes, each cleric can choose from a host of subdomains that focus on one aspect of their deity's power. Two or more subdomains are presented for each domain.

That certainly indicates to me that the Cleric options are not archetypes.

Sorcerer: Aquatic Bloodline, Boreal Bloodline, Deepearth Bloodline, Dreamspun Bloodline, Protean Bloodline, Serpentine Bloodline, Shadow Bloodline, Starsoul Bloodline, Stormborn Bloodline, and Verdant Bloodline. Unlike other alternate class features, a sorcerer may never have more than one bloodline.

We know what Bloodlines are from the CRB. These are not archetypes.

Wizard: This section includes four elemental wizard schools, air, earth, fire, and water. It also includes focused arcane schools, which allow wizards of one school to focus on one element of that school's power.

This is two different ideas, but neither are archetypes. The elemental schools are additional options for your Arcane School class feature. The focused arcane schools are specializations of existing arcane schools.

For reference, archetypes do appear in other books. Ultimate Combat has the Spellslinger wizard, for example.

Archetypes are a set grouping of Alternate Class Features, the bloodlines, domains, and wizard schools are also Alternate Class Features.

Advanced Players Guide wrote:
Each alternate class feature replaces a specific class feature from its parent class... When an archetype includes multiple class features, a character must take all of them...All of the other class features found in the core class and not mentioned among the alternate class features remain unchanged and are acquired normally when the character reaches the appropriate level (unless noted otherwise).

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / ''Archetypes'' in the Advanced player's Guide All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.