Help me understand faction boons!


Starfinder Society


Okay, relatively new to SFS and I am finding the rules for boons a little daunting. So please bear with me.

I see on the faction boons list in the SFS guide, the first one on the list is the "champion" boon. Acquisitives Champion, Dataphiles Champion, and so on. Apparently these boons need to be slotted to gain reputation in that faction.

Does this mean that I need to pay fame to join a faction? Or is this for getting reputation for another faction other than the one you started with?

Do you need to spend fame gained by reputation earned from that faction? If so, how can you get that reputation if you can't buy the boon in order to get it?

Help!

Scarab Sages ***** Venture-Captain, Washington—Spokane

On character creation, the faction you choose grants you the Champion boon of that faction for free. You do need to pay Fame to champion additional factions where I think you would have to have a boon providing an invitation to a different faction.

Hope this clear up any confusion.

The Exchange ***** Venture-Lieutenant, Texas—Dallas & Ft. Worth aka Belafon

Page 21 page 10:
Select one faction when you create your character. You get that Faction Champion boon for free.

You can buy additional Faction Champion boons. They cost 2 Fame each.

You don’t technically get Fame by getting Reputation. The scenario success conditions will generally say “If the PCs do Thing A, they receive one Fame and one Reputation for any factions associated with her currently slotted faction boon.“ You can also get bonus Reputation without receiving Fame.

***** ⦵⦵⦵

1 person marked this as a favorite.

This confused me too. You get one for free, you have to buy the others.


Okay, thanks guys! That's a big help.

Second Question: if the GM tells you to slot a boon for a particular faction, and you don't have the boon, can you spend fame right then to buy it? Or do you have to have it before the scenario starts?

The Exchange ***** Venture-Lieutenant, Texas—Dallas & Ft. Worth aka Belafon

Peet wrote:

Okay, thanks guys! That's a big help.

Second Question: if the GM tells you to slot a boon for a particular faction, and you don't have the boon, can you spend fame right then to buy it? Or do you have to have it before the scenario starts?

Indont believe it is clearly spelled out when you purchase boons, but in most cases I’d allow it. There’s usually not a time pressure right at the beginning of a scenario.

Bear in mind that those are suggested Faction boons. There’s usually no additional reward for slotting that particular one, it’s just that the scenario is closely tied to the goals of that faction.

***** ⦵⦵⦵

Peet wrote:

Okay, thanks guys! That's a big help.

Second Question: if the GM tells you to slot a boon for a particular faction, and you don't have the boon, can you spend fame right then to buy it? Or do you have to have it before the scenario starts?

I believe so. But don't see much of the point of doing so. you're getting x amount of reputation either way , So if you go on the exoguardians mission "All of your base belong to us", take every base for your 2 PP, and you're slotting exoguardians, you get 3 rep exoguardians. If you're a dataphile you get 1 exoguardian and 2 dataphiles rep.


BigNorseWolf wrote:
I believe so. But don't see much of the point of doing so. you're getting x amount of reputation either way , So if you go on the exoguardians mission "All of your base belong to us", take every base for your 2 PP, and you're slotting exoguardians, you get 3 rep exoguardians. If you're a dataphile you get 1 exoguardian and 2 dataphiles rep.

Now that I didn't realize. I didn't know that a mission reputation for 1 faction could be converted to your own faction.

So the idea then is that you would only do that if you wanted to buy boons off another faction's list?

**** Venture-Agent, Minnesota—St. Louis Park aka BretI

1 person marked this as a favorite.

No reputation is converted.

The faction you slot determines which faction the normal reputation from that scenario goes to. The bonus reputation (if any) always goes towards the faction indicated.

Think of it as having impressed that faction. “You know, we should try to recruit them! I know their main focus is with that other faction, but if we can get them to do some work for us on the side that would be nice.

The Exchange ***** Venture-Lieutenant, Texas—Dallas & Ft. Worth aka Belafon

Peet wrote:
BigNorseWolf wrote:
I believe so. But don't see much of the point of doing so. you're getting x amount of reputation either way , So if you go on the exoguardians mission "All of your base belong to us", take every base for your 2 PP, and you're slotting exoguardians, you get 3 rep exoguardians. If you're a dataphile you get 1 exoguardian and 2 dataphiles rep.
Now that I didn't realize. I didn't know that a mission reputation for 1 faction could be converted to your own faction.

So, it's not actually conversion. The GM will often suggest you slot a particular Faction Champion boon because it is tied to the mission. However, you can slot any Faction Champion boon, not just that one. The rewards are at the end, and usually read like:

Quote:

Primary Success Condition:

If the PCs accomplish Task A, they receive one Fame and one Reputation for any factions associated with her currently slotted faction boon.
Secondary Success Condition:
If the PCs accomplish Task B, they receive one Fame and one Reputation for any factions associated with her currently slotted faction boon.

You get the Fame, period. You get the reputation for these rewards with whatever Faction boon you have slotted, even if it's not the one thematically tied to the scenario.

Many scenarios that are tied to a particular faction also have another reward. For example, 1-03 contains the "Wayfinders" tag, meaning it is thematically tied to the Wayfinders faction. There's a third section of the rewards:

Quote:

Faction Notes

If the PCs accomplish Task C, each PC earns 1 additional Reputation with the Wayfinders faction, in addition to any other Reputation earned as a result of completing this scenario.

This doesn't get "converted" or anything similar. If you accomplish Task C you get 1 Reputation with the Wayfinders, period. It doesn't matter what Faction Champion boon you had slotted.

Quote:
So the idea then is that you would only do that if you wanted to buy boons off another faction's list?

Unlike PFS, Starfinder Society doesn't limit you to one faction. You may prefer to be Tier 1 or 2 with three factions rather than Tier 3 with just one. Maybe for buying boons, maybe because you got a boon on a chronicle that requires a specific Reputation Tier with a specific faction (there's at least one so far), or maybe just because you think your character is too hyperactive to commit to one thing.

**** Venture-Agent, Washington—Tacoma aka Link2000

I know that this thread is a couple of weeks old, but I have a question about the faction boons as well.

When we purchase a faction boon, is that boon permanently available to us? Example, I purchase the "Collector and Examiner" ally boon from the Exo-Guardians (meeting the Tier prerequisites of course), can I slot that boon whenever I want without paying the cost again? Or do I have to make the purchase each time?

Liberty's Edge *** Venture-Captain, Nebraska—Omaha

Most boons are permanently. Some are limited and that is included in the description.

I read this boon as being permanent. You don't need to pay the cost again once you have purchased it. That boon is limited to how many times you can make use it because of creature type.

The Exchange ***** Venture-Lieutenant, Texas—Dallas & Ft. Worth aka Belafon

1 person marked this as a favorite.

Unless the boon has the (Limited Use) tag it is reusable.

Bear in mind that if you slot the Collector and Examiner boon you can’t have another ally boon active for that scenario.

**** Venture-Agent, Washington—Tacoma aka Link2000

Glad to hear! Thanks you two!

Community / Forums / Organized Play / Starfinder Society / Help me understand faction boons! All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.