Mithril Full Plate on Barbarian


Rules Questions


Can a Barbarian who doesn't have the heavy armor proficiency wear Mithril Full Plate armor? And if so, are there any penalties to it?

Grand Lodge

Pathfinder Battles Case Subscriber; Pathfinder Card Game Subscriber; Pathfinder Comics Subscriber

Yes, but he takes any remaining Armor Check Penalty as a penalty to all of his Str and Dex based checks.

Nonproficient with Armor Worn wrote:
A character who wears armor and/or uses a shield with which he is not proficient takes the armor's (and/or shield's) armor check penalty on attack rolls as well as on all Dexterity- and Strength-based ability and skill checks. The penalty for nonproficiency with armor stacks with the penalty for shields.

Full plate has a -6 ACP and mithral reduces that by 3. So he would take a -3 to all attacks, all Str and Dex checks, all Str and Dex based skills like Climb and Acrobatics, as well as initiative due to it being a Dex check.


1 person marked this as a favorite.

Yes, anyone can wear that.
A barb would get the ACP to all of his str and dex d20 rolls and not just skills. So initiative and attack rolls.


You could take the Serpent Runner, Armor Expert and Sargavan Guard traits. Each lowers your ACP by 1 so all three means no penalty when applied to mithral plate. There is also the Nimble armor mod, Comfort enchant and other things that reduce your ACP.

Dark Archive

Pathfinder Adventure Path, Roleplaying Game, Starfinder Society Roleplaying Guild Subscriber; Pathfinder Comics Subscriber

It still counts as heavy armor for proficiency and as medium armor for everything else.


Thank you. Not sure why it posted a duplicate of my question , sorry.


1 person marked this as a favorite.

celestial armor on the other hand counts as medium for proficiency

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder RPG / Rules Questions / Mithril Full Plate on Barbarian All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.