Acrobatics


Rules Questions


I am new to Acrobatics. If I am a ninja, wanting to flank, and I have to move through 3 threatened squares, do I need to make 3 separate acrobatics checks? (I understand tumbling through creature adds 10 to the DC.)

If I disengage via acrobatics, I can make one check, and then move 20 feet (with a human) because tumbling through 1 square would be at 1/2 speed (for optimal outcome)?

Thanks!


Only if those 3 squares are threatened by 3 seperate opponents.

You need to make 1 check per opponent per turn to move through their threatened squares without provoking attacks of opportunity from them.


Great news, thanks!


Moving through an enemy's square increases the DC by 5, not 10, and each opponent after the first increases the DC by 2.


You will also only make a single roll, apply it to the original DC, then add two to the DC of a second instance if necessary, check the result of the original role, pass or fail, continue until complete. Also remember that your target DC is the CMD of the creature you are tumbling around or through. As already noted, only make a single check against an opponent for each round of tumbling regardless of the number of squares that opponent threatens. Finally, do not forget to apply any encumbrance or armor penalties to the check. Very handy when moving into threatened squares of reach opponents...

When you withdraw, it is only necessary to tumble as part of the action if you will have to move through more than the original square of movement. Consider it the same as a five foot free move only that first five feet does count against you maximum movement rate for the round.

Saavy?


Saavy!


Thedmstrikes wrote:

You will also only make a single roll, apply it to the original DC, then add two to the DC of a second instance if necessary, check the result of the original role, pass or fail, continue until complete. Also remember that your target DC is the CMD of the creature you are tumbling around or through. As already noted, only make a single check against an opponent for each round of tumbling regardless of the number of squares that opponent threatens. Finally, do not forget to apply any encumbrance or armor penalties to the check. Very handy when moving into threatened squares of reach opponents...

When you withdraw, it is only necessary to tumble as part of the action if you will have to move through more than the original square of movement. Consider it the same as a five foot free move only that first five feet does count against you maximum movement rate for the round.

Saavy?

The rules do not specify if it is one roll applied against all targets or a roll for each target, and many GMs will rule the other way.

Personally I favor one roll per target because otherwise one bad roll means that everyone gets to kill you as opposed to just one bad guy.


This FAQ actually suggests it is multiple rolls.

"Acrobatics allows you to make checks to move through..." Checks plural, not singular.

"In the case of moving out of the threatened square of two foes at the same time, the moving character decides which check to make first." Not make a single check and compare against both CMDs. But decide which check to make first. Typically a single check is a single roll. If you are making multiple checks (which one is first, which one is second), then you make multiple rolls.


Does the +2 per additional opponent actually appear in the text, or was that a stealth erratum? I don't see it in the description for Acrobatics.


blahpers wrote:
Does the +2 per additional opponent actually appear in the text, or was that a stealth erratum? I don't see it in the description for Acrobatics.

It is a footnote on the table. Column labeled "Base Acrobatics DC".

Quote:
* This DC is used to avoid an attack of opportunity due to movement. This DC increases by 2 for each additional opponent avoided in 1 round.

And as it was part of the old 3.5 D&D Tumble skill (which was rolled into Acrobatics), it isn't a new rule and likely has been there since the beginning.


Accursed footnotes! Thanks.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Acrobatics All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.