Shifter's Fury and Primary Attacks


Rules Questions


FAQ wrote:
Shifter’s Fury (Ex): At level 6, a shifter gains the ability to make several ferocious attacks with the same natural weapon. Instead of attacking with all her natural weapons, the shifter can choose a single natural weapon and make a full attack with that natural weapon, gaining a second iterative attack at a –5 as if it was a manufactured weapon. When she does so, all her other natural attacks count as secondary attacks and don’t benefit from shifter’s claws. At 11th level, she gains a third iterative attack at a –10 and at 16th level, she gains a fourth iterative attack at –15.

Since Shifter's Fury makes all other natural attacks secondary, typically you'd be using a primary natural attack. Does this mean you add 1.5 str as you would usually to a primary attack?

Paizo Employee Designer

willuwontu wrote:
FAQ wrote:
Shifter’s Fury (Ex): At level 6, a shifter gains the ability to make several ferocious attacks with the same natural weapon. Instead of attacking with all her natural weapons, the shifter can choose a single natural weapon and make a full attack with that natural weapon, gaining a second iterative attack at a –5 as if it was a manufactured weapon. When she does so, all her other natural attacks count as secondary attacks and don’t benefit from shifter’s claws. At 11th level, she gains a third iterative attack at a –10 and at 16th level, she gains a fourth iterative attack at –15.
Since Shifter's Fury makes all other natural attacks secondary, typically you'd be using a primary natural attack. Does this mean you add 1.5 str as you would usually to a primary attack?

You'd follow the normal rules for that (which generally say 1.5x only if it's being used as a primary and is your only natural attack). So the snake or wolf could do it just fine, but not the tiger.


Mark Seifter wrote:
willuwontu wrote:
FAQ wrote:
Shifter’s Fury (Ex): At level 6, a shifter gains the ability to make several ferocious attacks with the same natural weapon. Instead of attacking with all her natural weapons, the shifter can choose a single natural weapon and make a full attack with that natural weapon, gaining a second iterative attack at a –5 as if it was a manufactured weapon. When she does so, all her other natural attacks count as secondary attacks and don’t benefit from shifter’s claws. At 11th level, she gains a third iterative attack at a –10 and at 16th level, she gains a fourth iterative attack at –15.
Since Shifter's Fury makes all other natural attacks secondary, typically you'd be using a primary natural attack. Does this mean you add 1.5 str as you would usually to a primary attack?
You'd follow the normal rules for that (which generally say 1.5x only if it's being used as a primary and is your only natural attack). So the snake or wolf could do it just fine, but not the tiger.

Alrighty thanks for the reply.

Sczarni

I can not find Shifter's Fury anywhere, where is this ability located?

Scarab Sages

It's in the FAQ.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Shifter's Fury and Primary Attacks All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.