Technomancer's Arcane Battery


Rules Questions


AT 3rd level, Technomancer PRC gains the arcane battery class feature, allowing them to expend prepared spells/spell slots to power technology.
However, it also states that this cannot be used to power devices that don't use charges.
My question: can Arcane Battery be used to power devices that uses nanite canisters, such as dart gun or nanite hypogun? The technology guide states that each use of a dart gun expends one "charge" but that seems at odds with the name "battery" in the class feature name.


I have not read the PRC or the items.

But. the name of an ability is not rules text.

If it lets you use spell slots as charges for tech items. It should work here as well.

Are there different kinds of charges for tech items=?


Zautos' wrote:
Are there different kinds of charges for tech items=?

The Technology Guide gives two kinds of charges for rechargable weapons and items: battery charges and nanite cannister charges. Batteries cost 100 gp and provide 10 charges. Nanite cannisters cost 500 gp and provide 10 charges.

Both are called charges. Arcane Battery does not specifiy a type, so it should work for both.


By RAW with no clarifications it would affect both, since they both use the charge language. However RAI is kinda clear with the name arcane BATTERY implies electricity

Community / Forums / Starfinder / Rules Questions / Technomancer's Arcane Battery All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.