Warcat Wildshape question


Rules Questions


Greetings all,

Just a question when Wild Shaping into the warcat.

Melee bite +22 (2d6+12 plus grab), 2 claw +22 (1d8+12/19–20 plus rend)
Space 15 ft.; Reach 15 ft.
Special Attacks pounce, rend (2 claws, 1d8+18), trample (2d8, DC 30)

For the trample, would I add 1.5x to STR and could I add Power Attack to it? And is the DC 10 + 1/2 the creature’s HD + the creature’s Str modifier?

Sovereign Court

Atalius wrote:

Greetings all,

Just a question when Wild Shaping into the warcat.

Melee bite +22 (2d6+12 plus grab), 2 claw +22 (1d8+12/19–20 plus rend)
Space 15 ft.; Reach 15 ft.
Special Attacks pounce, rend (2 claws, 1d8+18), trample (2d8, DC 30)

For the trample, would I add 1.5x to STR and could I add Power Attack to it? And is the DC 10 + 1/2 the creature’s HD + the creature’s Str modifier?

Since I'm making a Druid at the moment, I'll attempt to answer your question.

According to the PRD:

Trample (Ex) wrote:

As a full-round action, a creature with the trample ability can attempt to overrun any creature that is at least one size category smaller than itself. This works just like the overrun combat maneuver, but the trampling creature does not need to make a check, it merely has to move over opponents in its path. Targets of a trample take an amount of damage equal to the trampling creature's slam damage + 1-1/2 times its Str modifier. Targets of a trample can make an attack of opportunity, but at a –4 penalty. If targets forgo an attack of opportunity, they can attempt to avoid the trampling creature and receive a Reflex save to take half damage. The save DC against a creature's trample attack is 10 + 1/2 creature's HD + creature's Str modifier (the exact DC is given in the creature's descriptive text). A trampling creature can only deal trampling damage to each target once per round, no matter how many times its movement takes it over a target creature.

Format: trample (2d6+9, DC 20); Location: Special Attacks.

That would indicate that the trample attack for the warcat would deal the trample damage plus 1-1/2 times your STR modifier. In this case, that's 2d8 + 1-1/2 STR modifier (which, I assume, is from 2 claws since the Warcat does not have a slam attack).

Also, yes, the save DC would be 10 + 1/2 your character level + STR modifier. You use your hit dice and ability modifiers when determining abilities based upon Wild Shape.

As to the second part of your question, that I don't really know. From other posts made over the years, I've gathered that you don't add Power Attack damage to special attacks such as Constrict, Rend, Trample, etc.

For instance, a post by James Jacobs has given his opinion on the matter. Granted, this is in respect to Rend, but I think it would apply for Trample.

James Jacobs' Post & Rend wrote:

Rend adds damage to an attack; it's not an attack in and of itself. Just as power attack won't increase sneak attack damage or constrict damage, it won't increase rend damage (although it DOES increase the damage inflicted by the attacks that are necessary to trigger rend in the first place). Rake attacks ARE attacks, so power attack applies there.

Rend kills enough PCs anyway. There's no need to increase its damage, for the same reason there's no reason to tie a machine gun onto a nuclear bomb!

Hopefully this has been helpful. And now, I'm preparing myself to be contradicted by someone else.


Hmm it was helpful. I have also heard you can apply power attack to constrict so I'm not sure.

Sovereign Court

Atalius wrote:
Hmm it was helpful. I have also heard you can apply power attack to constrict so I'm not sure.

Well, that is news to me. For something like this, best to ask your GM (or if it's for PFS, ask the GM before the scenario begins, or possibly a venture captain or venture lieutenant).


I have also read it doesn't apply to power attack :) and this is the exact problem with the internet


1 person marked this as a favorite.

power attack adds to your damage rolls for the round. So constrict is a damage roll and thus should be good for power attack. I'm not aware of the opposing view and how they say it wouldn't qualify for the power attack damage.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Warcat Wildshape question All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.