Urban Barbarian + Skald


Rules Questions


Can urban barbarian benefit from skald's inspired rage?

Can she, for example, use her own bonuses to DEX, but does not use her rage rounds? Or she needs to take only STR and CON and become mad?


The skald allows anyone with rage to use theirs over a skalds. It is still rage in the ability "when the urban barbarian rages"

So I would say you're good to go


Cavall wrote:

The skald allows anyone with rage to use theirs over a skalds. It is still rage in the ability "when the urban barbarian rages"

So I would say you're good to go

It actually doesn't say that.

Inspired Rage wrote:
If an ally has her own rage class ability (such as barbarian’s rage, bloodrager’s bloodrage, or skald’s inspired rage), she may use the Strength, Constitution, and Will saving throw bonuses, as well as AC penalties, based on her own ability and level instead of those from the skald (still suffering no fatigue afterward). However, inspired rage does not allow the ally to activate abilities dependent on other rage class abilities, such as rage powers, blood casting, or bloodrager bloodlines; the ally must activate her own rage class ability in order to use these features.

So it technically has to be one of the following, but I'd say speak with the GM and see what their opinion is.

Grand Lodge

Yup, by RAW, you cannot use the Inspired Rage song to boost Dexterity with Urban Barbarian. You can't even do so with the Urban Skald's Controlled Inspired Rage, but I believe that is an unintended side effect to the wording of that archetype.

You can, however, put your whole bonus in either Str or Con, instead of accepting the Skald's Inspired Rage.


Hm. So much q6estions about skald and raging characters under the song...

What about acepting the song for ztr and con bonuses, and also using own rage for DEX buff?

Grand Lodge

Nope, you have to use your own benefits and drawbacks or use the Skald's. If the skald can do +2 str/con, +1 will saves, -1 A.C., but you're an urban barbarian, you can accept those conditions or you can accept your own rage conditions minus the dexterity bonus. So +2 str/con, +4 str, or +4 con. You cannot have both abilities affect you.


But why?

If I am bloodrager - I can accept rage from Skald. But than I cannot use my own rage abilities, such as natural attacks, so I nedd now to begin my OWN rage to get all of the benefits (but they are not stackable).

Or I am wrong and bloodrager only can use its own rage OR skald's rage? Why not both? It's so strange, because skald needs to help raging characters, not to debuff them by this.

And such is about urban barbarian: both skald and barbarian expends it's own rounds and all abilities are turned on.


When Raging Song says "[the Barbarian] may use the Strength, Constitution, and Will saving throw bonuses (...) based on her own ability", it does exactly that. Yes, it should say it grant's the target's regular rage bonuses, but it does not. If you want to play Pathfinder, best get used to overly narrow language. I'd say it's a very resonable houserule, but it's a houserule nonetheless.

Lord Lupus the Grey wrote:
skald needs to help raging characters, not to debuff them by this.

No debuffing, just non-stacking. Skald is indeed best used in a party with no full level rage abilities.

Your post is a bit confusing, but just to be clear, you can never get both your own and the Skald's rage powers at the same time.


Derklord wrote:
Your post is a bit confusing, but just to be clear, you can never get both your own and the Skald's rage powers at the same time.

Seriously? Is there a FAQ or something directly saying it?


Inspired Rage wrote:
inspired rage does not allow the ally to activate abilities dependent on other rage class abilities, such as rage powers, blood casting, or bloodrager bloodlines; the ally must activate her own rage class ability in order to use these features.
FAQ wrote:
When you either activate or are affected by a new form of rage (such as a barbarian’s rage, a skald’s raging song, a bloodrager’s bloodrage, and the rage spell), you can choose whether to keep your current rage or to accept the new rage instead

FAQ link


Bad news, but thanks! I think, my bloodrager is no more supported by party skald ;(

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Urban Barbarian + Skald All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.
Recent threads in Rules Questions