Energy Resistance(EX) interactions with Protection from energy spell.


Rules Questions


How does natural energy resistances, extraordinary abilities, such as racial traits interact with protection from Energy spell?

Do not confuse energy resistance(ex) with the similarly named spell resistance to energy.

Also break this down in depth and if you can reference the rules in quotes.

Thank you.


The rules do not cover this directly, sorry.

However, the effect of resist energy is just to grant energy resistance, so IMO it's hard to see why energy resistance from other sources wouldn't have the same interaction.

Sczarni

I answered you over in your other thread.

I was not "confused". Energy resistance (the spell) grants you Energy Resistance (the ability).

And when you combine protection from energy with energy resistance, the protection is used up first.

Sczarni

You could also look at it this way:

Protection from energy grants you immunity to ("never takes damage from") one element.

Energy Resistance X reduces the damage you would take from one element by X.

If you're immune (such as with protection from energy), there's no damage being applied for Energy Resistance to reduce.

But as soon as that immunity disappears, such as when the spell is "used up", then Energy Resistance would apply normally.


Nefreet thanks for your response.
However, resist energy(sp) does not equal energy resistance(ex).

In the spell descriptor for resist energy it does not say it grants energy resistance. It says it grants resist energy.
This might be a glaring typo in the spell descriptor. However it needs clarification because these effects aren't type specific since one is from a magical effect and another from ash extraordinary effect.

I don't even like this argument, but it is the argument of line of my players and I can't find a great counter point.


Also Nefreet, thanks for the protection angle, that makes a lot of sense.


DarkstarDSE wrote:

Nefreet thanks for your response.

However, resist energy(sp) does not equal energy resistance(ex).

In the spell descriptor for resist energy it does not say it grants energy resistance. It says it grants resist energy.
This might be a glaring typo in the spell descriptor. However it needs clarification because these effects aren't type specific since one is from a magical effect and another from ash extraordinary effect.

I don't even like this argument, but it is the argument of line of my players and I can't find a great counter point.

Yes it very well does.

Quote:
This abjuration grants a creature limited protection from damage of whichever one of five energy types you select: acid, cold, electricity, fire, or sonic. The subject gains resist energy 10 against the energy type chosen, meaning that each time the creature is subjected to such damage (whether from a natural or magical source), that damage is reduced by 10 points before being applied to the creature's hit points. The value of the energy resistance granted increases to 20 points at 7th level and to a maximum of 30 points at 11th level. The spell protects the recipient's equipment as well.

"Resist energy" and "energy resistance" are the same thing. The ability is called "energy resistance", but every creature lists it as "resist (energy)". They mean the exact same thing.

Quote:
Defensive Abilities uncanny dodge; DR 10/evil; Immune acid, cold, petrification; Resist electricity 10, fire 10; SR 25

One being magical and the other not has no bearing whatever on how they interact.


Can someone address the order or resolution? Energy Resistance (Ex) states that it resolves first in the rules. If it resolves before the immunity wouldn't it thereby reduce the damage done to the bubble in the event that they would stack?

From my understanding usually rules, when being followed by RAW, would need to expressly communicate other rules or effects they don't stack with. Especially in the context of spells since the spell effects regularly alter rules.

Thanks.


My understanding is that defensive abilities are generally resolved in order, from broadest and most powerful to weakest and most specific.

For example, let's say you have Spell Resistance and Resist Fire 10, and someone casts a fireball at you. The first question isn't "do I reduce the damage?", it's "Does it work on me at all?". If it gets past your SR, then your Energy Resistance would matter. Similarly, if you have both Resist Fire 10 and Immunity to Fire, the Immunity kicks in first.

(Note that the Protection From Energy and Resist Energy spells, when used at the same time, follow this principle. The spell giving immunity works first, then the spell granting resistance.)

Any exception is, of course, called out in the rules. If something says it goes first, then it goes first, regardless of the usual trend. This is quite intentional.

Sczarni

Robotscallmecoty wrote:
Can someone address the order or resolution? Energy Resistance (Ex) states that it resolves first in the rules.

Protection is used first, not Resistance.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Energy Resistance(EX) interactions with Protection from energy spell. All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.
Recent threads in Rules Questions